|
#1
|
||||
|
||||
|
So, I got a google alert today. It had the name of my company in it, but I noticed that the verbiage was a little different than mine, like $25 in-home diagnostic or something like that. So, I clicked on it and it took me to another site, one that looks VERY similar to mine. They changed the logos and color obviously, but ripped off most of my text verbatim. Also, they cut most of my prices down. Now, I know that this really isn't a huge deal, they are in Minneapolis MN, but wouldn't this piss you off? I mean, I suppose it is a compliment of sorts, but come on, at least ask first! Anyway, that's my rant.
EDIT: here is the url http://qualitypcrepair.net The page is still under construction, so they are obviously new. |
|
#2
|
||||
|
|
||||
|
When looking at your site, I see something interesting.
Copyright 2007, Little Dog LLC, Urbandale IA 50322 If this really is copyrighted then you can send a cease and desist notice to the owner. If you just put that on and really did not copyright it, I suggest you do.
__________________
----------------------------------- Chris Pfeffer Military: United States Army Communications and Networking Specialist Civilian: Service Desk Team Lead http://www.geekhelp4u.com |
|
#3
|
||||
|
|
||||
|
Quote:
__________________
[SIZE="1"]Michael L.White Consulting (919) 285-8313 michael@flyingbullsoftware.com [/SIZE] |
|
#4
|
||||
|
||||
|
If your doing well, it'll happen. You have no idea how badly I get it. Technibble's RSS feed gets scraped by splogs all the time. Some sites just copy and paste and claim stuff as their own. Something I find funny is when people steal my other sites forum rules. They leave all the "If you spam you'll be banned from Technibble. Please contact Bryce W if you have any problems etc.." stuff in there and not change the site/contact name.
__________________
Owner and Founder of Technibble - If you have a problem with any user, they are flaming/being elitist/making snide comments etc.. Press the report button which is on the top right of every post. This will highlight the post in an admin area for staff to see and deal with. For adminly tasks such as username changes, moving threads etc.. please contact Martyn Check out Technibbles twitter: http://www.twitter.com/technibble |
|
#5
|
||||
|
||||
|
Actually, any works you create are instantly copyrighted, with or without the (C). In fact, this forum post is now copyrighted.
__________________
Owner and Founder of Technibble - If you have a problem with any user, they are flaming/being elitist/making snide comments etc.. Press the report button which is on the top right of every post. This will highlight the post in an admin area for staff to see and deal with. For adminly tasks such as username changes, moving threads etc.. please contact Martyn Check out Technibbles twitter: http://www.twitter.com/technibble |
|
#6
|
||||
|
|
||||
|
You are absolutely correct, I couldn't remember if that was true or not earlier. You beat me in here before I could reverify that fact.
__________________
[SIZE="1"]Michael L.White Consulting (919) 285-8313 michael@flyingbullsoftware.com [/SIZE] |
|
#7
|
||||
|
||||
|
I had some thieves do the same thing to me. I had my business lawyer (he's a pitbull) send them a letter and they took the sites down within days. Though there are other factors, I would recommend doing it. If you want to talk about the other factors, PM me. I think it would be best not to broadcast everything.
__________________
Tim |
|
#8
|
|||
|
|||
|
Since they're not competing with you it's not that big of a deal, but if you wanted to get back at them there are sites out there that keep track of stolen designs. You could try submitting to one of those and if anyone ever does a google search for their company name it will likely show up as one of the first results since it's likely the site you submit to will have much higher PR than their ripoff job.
Personally I'd be very skeptical of a business that chose to copy someone elses work rather than pay a few bucks for a template. Seems like a good way to give karma a nudge in the right direction. |
|
#9
|
||||
|
||||
|
since their e-mail contact isn't functioning, I'm going to call tomorrow and have a little chat. I'm not going to be mean or nasty, just firm. I'll update everyone when I know more.
|
|
#10
|
|||
|
|||
|
Registrant:
Jesse Wolf 14125 Quince ST NW Andover, Minnesota 55304 United States Registered through: GoDaddy.com, Inc. (http://www.godaddy.com) Domain Name: QUALITYPCREPAIR.NET Created on: 10-Feb-09 Expires on: 11-Feb-10 Last Updated on: 17-Feb-09 Administrative Contact: Wolf, Jesse jeswolf@gmail.com 14125 Quince ST NW Andover, Minnesota 55304 United States (763) 639-1763 Fax -- Technical Contact: Wolf, Jesse jeswolf@gmail.com 14125 Quince ST NW Andover, Minnesota 55304 United States (763) 639-1763 Fax -- Domain servers in listed order: NS1.HOSTMONSTER.COM NS2.HOSTMONSTER.COM
__________________
Interphase Technologies A+, Net+ and Security+ Certified |
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|