Go Back   Technibble Forums > Technical Discussions > Software Applications

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-01-2009, 05:16 PM
ASDCR's Avatar
ASDCR ASDCR is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: San Diego
Posts: 174
ASDCR is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

yeah.. since they're both XP you can probably go back to 6




and.. check it out

you don't have to stay there!


go back to six just to fix it - then re-d/l seven again

it'll stay fixed






but dood, at some point you gotta just ask.. is it all worth it?? what is your time worth??

you're putting in some serious time on "dinky dong" stuff (vietnamese for "little stuff")


you could "try" an inplace-install (re-install XP over itself - from orig OS media)





and.. in similar situations in the past i've told clients that look... i could "go to the mat" over this IE thing - and charge you $400+ or......... i could just load firefox/chrome/safari and we could just LEARN to live with the fact that IE is broken and realize its just not worth anybody's time to try and fix it

life happens man



there are certain economic realities and often times clients are thicker skinned than we give them credit for and can accept cold hard facts of life

try it






ps - probably hammered w/ spyware/whatever anyway and the only way to REALLY get control of those PCs again is to put the orig CD in, repartition/format/reinstall XP... *shrug*
__________________
All San Diego Computer Repair
Computer Problems... SOLVED!
- Facebook - "like" me!
- Twitter - "follow" me!
- Google+ - add me to your Google+
- Root Metrics - cellphone signal coverage maps! cool!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-03-2009, 07:29 PM
arrow_runner's Avatar
arrow_runner arrow_runner is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 920
arrow_runner is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to arrow_runner Send a message via MSN to arrow_runner Send a message via Yahoo to arrow_runner
Default

Your suggestion for downgrading to 6 and then upgrading to 7 worked on one computer. The other computer is now stuck at 6 at won't install 7, but that's acceptable considering 7 didn't work at all.

Regarding my tenaciousness with these 2 PCs, I have my reasons for why I put the time into them, and I don't consider it time wasted at all. It really was no big deal anyhow as I'd work on them after everything else was done for the day or in those brief 'waiting for X to finish up' with other systems.

I've got a decent sized work bench and stations under it to connect to my KVM switch, so I don't mind having 1 or 2 drawn out software repairs once in awhile. It's always a good learning experience.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-03-2009, 07:38 PM
ASDCR's Avatar
ASDCR ASDCR is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: San Diego
Posts: 174
ASDCR is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

oh, no worries

yeah - sometimes i'll just "go" on a system just to do it

i went a whole saturday fighting that vundo virus... just to see how far i could get




heh!
__________________
All San Diego Computer Repair
Computer Problems... SOLVED!
- Facebook - "like" me!
- Twitter - "follow" me!
- Google+ - add me to your Google+
- Root Metrics - cellphone signal coverage maps! cool!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-12-2009, 04:42 PM
holyspidoo holyspidoo is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 12
holyspidoo is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

On the PC where you downgraded to 6 but can't install 7 anymore, what does the LOG file say?

In 90% of cases where I can't install IE7, there is a registry key that is locked. Maybe try to reset the whole registry permissions?

I'm still amazed at how many problems that fixes.

I believe this is the link? Not sure, I've had this in batch form forever!
http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/blog...showentry=1378
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-12-2009, 05:08 PM
arrow_runner's Avatar
arrow_runner arrow_runner is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 920
arrow_runner is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to arrow_runner Send a message via MSN to arrow_runner Send a message via Yahoo to arrow_runner
Default

I customer now has the computer back and gave us a $10 or $15 tip for the extra effort.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-12-2009, 08:48 PM
Galdorf Galdorf is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,675
Galdorf will become famous soon enough
Default

It maybe a problem with com+ or a corrupt service try this batch file you will need the windows cd then go to addremove windows components:



ren %WinDir%\System32\Clbcatq.dll ~Clbcatq.dll

REGEDIT4

; @ECHO OFF
; CLS
; REGEDIT.EXE /S "%~f0"
; EXIT

[-HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\COM3]

cd %windir%
rmdir /s /q Registration


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Symptoms of a bad com+ internet explorer will open then close for no reason, if you try installing or uninstalling a program you get microsoft installer could not be lanched, your machine would run slow usually the result of a corrupt com+ service.

Last edited by Galdorf; 03-12-2009 at 08:56 PM. Reason: change
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.