Go Back   Technibble Forums > Technical Discussions > Networking

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-05-2009, 05:31 PM
Simmy's Avatar
Simmy Simmy is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 1,432
Simmy is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Simmy
Default TFTP PXE Server

I've got a laptop here with no CD/floppy drive and non bootable usb ports. It's got an ethernet adapter with pxe support and I need to install windows 98 on it (yes it's that old).

I've setup TFTP correctly as far as I can tell, because the laptop gets assigned an ip address from the PXE server but refuses to load any further or give me any boot options. It times out with TFTP E32 which basically is a timeout error and can't find pxelinux.0. As far as I can tell, all of the files are in their correct folders and the tftp settings all point to the correct directories.

Does anyone have any suggestions?
__________________

Computer Repair Bristol | Bristol IT Support
Vidahost Discount Code | FreeAgent Discount Code | PM Me For A TeamViewer Discount Code
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-05-2009, 05:53 PM
Simmy's Avatar
Simmy Simmy is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 1,432
Simmy is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Simmy
Default

Nevermind - sorted it.

For future reference, I had to tick "PXE compatiblity" in the tftp server settings.
__________________

Computer Repair Bristol | Bristol IT Support
Vidahost Discount Code | FreeAgent Discount Code | PM Me For A TeamViewer Discount Code
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-05-2009, 08:00 PM
arrow_runner's Avatar
arrow_runner arrow_runner is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 920
arrow_runner is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to arrow_runner Send a message via MSN to arrow_runner Send a message via Yahoo to arrow_runner
Default

For future reference, or if this is easier:

You can also hook it up to another Windows 98 computer (boot from hard disk, floppy, cd, shouldn't matter), do a *format C: /s /q and then just copy the entire cd to the hard drive, put the drive back in the laptop and it will boot to dos, then CD into the cd-contents directory and run setup from there.

*I believe the other command to do this w/o formatting was 'sys', but I forget when that command was last used in a windows OS.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-05-2009, 08:02 PM
seedubya's Avatar
seedubya seedubya is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Carlow, Ireland
Posts: 3,247
seedubya has a spectacular aura aboutseedubya has a spectacular aura about
Default

sys C:

copies the system files to the C: drive an makes it bootable.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-05-2009, 08:44 PM
Simmy's Avatar
Simmy Simmy is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 1,432
Simmy is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Simmy
Default

Cheers - I'll give that a try. I did try something similar yesterday but it didn't work. It booted off the hard drive in every other computer, but as soon as I put it into the original machine, it wouldn't boot. I've also just noticed the 20Gb hard drive appears as aa 236gb drive!
__________________

Computer Repair Bristol | Bristol IT Support
Vidahost Discount Code | FreeAgent Discount Code | PM Me For A TeamViewer Discount Code
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.