Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Tech-to-Tech Computer Help

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-06-2009, 01:35 AM
HI-TEKKSOLUTIONS's Avatar
HI-TEKKSOLUTIONS HI-TEKKSOLUTIONS is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Starke FL
Posts: 70
HI-TEKKSOLUTIONS is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to HI-TEKKSOLUTIONS
Default hard drive help

I have an old hp pentium 4 celeron computer and the hard drive died. I have another computer which had a 20gig hard drive in it with a fresh copy of xp prof. service pack 3 and it ran perfect. So i took that hard drive out and put it in the hp thinking that i would just have to activate windows again once it was in. when i turned on the hp all i got was a read disk error. i tried chkdsk, setting the jumper on every selection, and even went through the bios and tried everything. Bios read that the disk was there but once it got past the post, still all i got was the disk read error. so i went ahead and put the windows disk in and put on a fresh copy and it installed it fine. my question is why didnt the os just boot up when i put the harddrive in. Does any one have any ideas what it was?

Last edited by HI-TEKKSOLUTIONS; 01-06-2009 at 01:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-06-2009, 02:22 AM
14049752 14049752 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,230
14049752 has a spectacular aura about14049752 has a spectacular aura about
Default

I'm guessing that it's probably a slight difference in the controllers. You didn't mention how old the HP is, but maybe something to do with a slight difference in how the controllers calculate capacity. I might be wrong, but I think maybe going from 48-bit LBA to 28-Bit LBA (or 28 to 48) can sometimes cause that to happen.

Oh, and before anyone points it out: I realize the drive isn't over 137GB and that's typically what's associated with capacity problems between 28 and 48-bit lba.

Last edited by 14049752; 01-06-2009 at 02:29 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-06-2009, 02:46 AM
nonchalant's Avatar
nonchalant nonchalant is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Oz
Posts: 611
nonchalant is on a distinguished road
Default

I suspect a conflict with the MBR. Commonly with XP you cant just swap a HDD with a fresh copy of windows into a new PC. A format is the way to go.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-06-2009, 06:48 AM
PcTestCard.com's Avatar
PcTestCard.com PcTestCard.com is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 128
PcTestCard.com is an unknown quantity at this point
Smile

Xp and any other NT based OS cannot work like the previous windows98 or ME do. When installing the XP, the PC goes throuhg the hardware attraction layet device installation and the system "recognised" the mainboard chipset/devices serial already, cannot simply swapping xp among the different PCs even the same type of PCs.

If the PC boot to the other HDD with other XP, the booting process is going to fail. You will never see the desktop sceen.

For disk read error message, it should be just like the upper poster said, something about the master boot record. incorrect master boot code in the different MBR, will not link the BIOs posting process to the HDD XP boot files to boot to XP.

So reinstalling the XP is the easiest way to get the new HDD working on your PC now.

Hope this helps!
Bill
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-06-2009, 02:31 PM
14049752 14049752 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,230
14049752 has a spectacular aura about14049752 has a spectacular aura about
Default

I have a question about the above suggestions... Isn't the boot problem when switching controllers a problem with a different hardware abstraction layer (HAL), and the system will at least start to boot but then give "Unmountable boot volume" errors?
I understand a difference in MBR would cause the system to not boot, but wouldn't the error be something like "Operating system not found" instead of "disk read error"?

I'm just asking because I'm not so convinced about my theory and want to understand fully what others are suggesting....
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-06-2009, 02:40 PM
TimeCode's Avatar
TimeCode TimeCode is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pomona, CA
Posts: 1,260
TimeCode is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 14049752 View Post
I have a question about the above suggestions... Isn't the boot problem when switching controllers a problem with a different hardware abstraction layer (HAL), and the system will at least start to boot but then give "Unmountable boot volume" errors?
I understand a difference in MBR would cause the system to not boot, but wouldn't the error be something like "Operating system not found" instead of "disk read error"?

I'm just asking because I'm not so convinced about my theory and want to understand fully what others are suggesting....
I think you're right and what I would do is put the disk in a PC, doesn't matter which one and run SpinRite on it. Then after it has finished put it back in the original PC and see if it boots.
__________________
Tim
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-15-2009, 02:22 PM
HI-TEKKSOLUTIONS's Avatar
HI-TEKKSOLUTIONS HI-TEKKSOLUTIONS is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Starke FL
Posts: 70
HI-TEKKSOLUTIONS is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to HI-TEKKSOLUTIONS
Default thanks

thanks for all the input. i love technibble
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.