Go Back   Technibble Forums > Technical Discussions > Hardware

Technibble Sponsor

Old 05-16-2012, 04:20 AM

Tepin is on the way
Default Random thought

I'm still an amateur when it comes to electrical and haven't come across this yet on a desktop so I thought I'd ask anyone with more experience.

My few experiences with laptops suggest that simply closing the circuit for the power switch with a jumper is enough evidence to diagnose a bad switch if you don't own a multimeter. I know I can simply test this in the shop tomorrow and I plan to, but I thought I'd post about it as well while it's on my mind.

I just realized that as much as I like to say a failed CPU is the rarest thing you'll find I think on desktops a failed switch is even more rare. I've replaced a handful of cpus over the years but 0 switches on desktops, and less switches on laptops after I (accidentally) took one apart and saw the corrosion that was preventing the metal cap from closing the circuit.

Last edited by Tepin; 05-16-2012 at 04:22 AM. Reason: Bad gramma.
Old 05-16-2012, 04:42 AM

16k_zx81 is a jewel in the rough16k_zx81 is a jewel in the rough16k_zx81 is a jewel in the rough

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tepin View Post
I'm still an amateur when it comes to electrical and haven't come across this yet on a desktop so I thought I'd ask anyone with more experience.

My few experiences with laptops suggest that simply closing the circuit for the power switch with a jumper is enough evidence to diagnose a bad switch if you don't own a multimeter. I know I can simply test this in the shop tomorrow and I plan to, but I thought I'd post about it as well while it's on my mind.