Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Tech-to-Tech Computer Help

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-10-2008, 07:46 PM
bagellad's Avatar
bagellad bagellad is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Kingston, Ontario
Posts: 817
bagellad is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to bagellad
Default Router behind a router

I was wondering how you guys set up a wireless router behind the ISP's provided DSL router, What settings do you have to do for that?

Also has anyone had any experience with wireless repeaters?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-10-2008, 11:49 PM
solas solas is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Cork, Ireland
Posts: 63
solas is an unknown quantity at this point
Smile

a simple enough task , just make sure there on different subnets

for example
ISP router ip = 192.168.1.254
wireless router ip = 192.168.40.254

ISP router has dhcp turned on and its giving out a range of 192.168.1.1 to 10
you then plug a cat5 cable from the lan port on the isp router to the wan port on the wireless router.

your wireless router also has dhcp turned on and it is giving out ip's in the 192.168.40.1 to 100. So any wireless devices that connect to that access point will have an ip in the 192.168.40.1 to 100 range.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-11-2008, 09:14 AM
jazz jazz is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 22
jazz is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Well, its a good idea to not have many routers act as routers in a network if possible.

This not only causes conflicts in networks, but also complicates File/Printer Sharing, Port Forwarding, QOS etc. A better way to solve this issue would be:

1. If ISP's router is a better device, then disable DHCP on the Wireless router and connect the LAN Cable from one of the LAN ports of the ISP's router to one of the LAN ports in the Wireless Router, essentially making it act just like a Access Point.

2. If the Wireless Router is better (generally the case), then disable DHCP on the ISP's router + put it in bridge mode. This way, it'll only act as a Cable/ADSL modem and not a router. Connect the Lan port of the ISP's router into the WAN port of the Wireless Router and configure the ISP login settings in the Wireless Router.

Configure the advanced router settings like Port Forwarding, QOS, VoIP, etc on the Wireless router and be well on your way.

Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.