Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Tech-to-Tech Computer Help

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-01-2012, 02:15 AM
Rob_NNCC's Avatar
Rob_NNCC Rob_NNCC is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Northern Neck of Virginia
Posts: 662
Rob_NNCC is on a distinguished road
Default The disappearing SATA HDD

I have a customer that just made a home made system with an ASUS z68 motherboard and a core i5 hdd. The system is hooked up to a Seagate 1 TB hdd. The issue is, some times during post the HDD is not detected.

What I have done:
Move connection from SATA6 to SATA3 header.
Update bios to 3 day old build.
unplug all other SATA devices.
Switch from AHCI to IDE. This fixed the issue but it is not ideal.

Any advice, or should I just repair the windows install to play nice with legacy SATA mode.

Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-01-2012, 02:16 AM
PCX's Avatar
PCX PCX is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2,763
PCX is just really nicePCX is just really nicePCX is just really nicePCX is just really nice
Default

Did you run a diagnostics . . . . . . . . .
__________________
_

Before you decided to post your problems on the forums, did you run a FULL diagnostic?

Be willing to do what your competition is not.

"The smartest and most successful people in the world are those who surround themselves with smarter and more successful people than themselves"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-01-2012, 02:19 AM
Rob_NNCC's Avatar
Rob_NNCC Rob_NNCC is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Northern Neck of Virginia
Posts: 662
Rob_NNCC is on a distinguished road
Default

sorry to leave that out. Sea tools thinks the HDD is OK. It is brand new (I know that does not mean much now adays...) I have NOT hooked up another HDD to the computer to see if it does not detect that.

Thanks for the quick reply.

Last edited by Rob_NNCC; 05-01-2012 at 02:19 AM. Reason: adding info
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-01-2012, 02:23 AM
PCX's Avatar
PCX PCX is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2,763
PCX is just really nicePCX is just really nicePCX is just really nicePCX is just really nice
Default

I could be wrong, but if its not being recognized in the bios, then its not going to help doing anything on the Windows side. Have you run any other tests on the Mobo, CPU or even the memory. I know that the CPU and even the memory are less likely to be the culprit, but you never know. I have seen faulting CPUs and memory do weird things.

Also, you already know this, but try another hard drive and make sure you do an extended test on the HDD and not just a short test.
__________________
_

Before you decided to post your problems on the forums, did you run a FULL diagnostic?

Be willing to do what your competition is not.

"The smartest and most successful people in the world are those who surround themselves with smarter and more successful people than themselves"

Last edited by PCX; 05-01-2012 at 02:29 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-01-2012, 01:16 PM
732914TECH 732914TECH is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 165
732914TECH is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

my bet is the motherboard if switching to IDE mode resolves the issue...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-01-2012, 01:34 PM
mkeathley mkeathley is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 508
mkeathley is on a distinguished road
Default

I've had this issue in the past and switched the Sata cable to a newer one. Sometimes folks use older sata cables they already have when building a system.

I like/hate the locking ones. Might be a good idea here. Especially if its a cheap case that vibrates alot.
__________________
Texarkana Computer Repair
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-01-2012, 03:21 PM
Tepin Tepin is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 110
Tepin is on the way
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mkeathley View Post
I've had this issue in the past and switched the Sata cable to a newer one. Sometimes folks use older sata cables they already have when building a system.

I like/hate the locking ones. Might be a good idea here. Especially if its a cheap case that vibrates alot.
Does it miss the hard drive when the machine is cold, or does this just happen after the machine has been running for some time? When it does boot does the heatsink on the Southbridge get uncomfortable to touch after awhile?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-01-2012, 04:09 PM
Rob_NNCC's Avatar
Rob_NNCC Rob_NNCC is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Northern Neck of Virginia
Posts: 662
Rob_NNCC is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks for all your comments. Turned out to be HDD firmware.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ahci, hdd not detected, ide

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.