Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Tech-to-Tech Computer Help

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-24-2012, 11:35 PM
xxsilk109xx's Avatar
xxsilk109xx xxsilk109xx is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 1,220
xxsilk109xx is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Toshiba Laptop Restarting and wont power off

Toshiba A305D
Customer brought it in because the keyboard did not work, come to find out some coffee was spilled on it but after observation, I noticed that it was contained in the tray and it did not seem to be "between" the bottom of the keyboard or the tray that it sits in. So I think that the coffee was contained in the keyboard.

I replaced the keyboard, booted it up, customer had not used it in a year or so and wanted it wiped and reset. So I nuke and paved this thing and it works fine.

Only problem is that when I hold the power button down, it shuts off then restarts. Same if I go to windows and tell it to shut down. I have disabled everything in the BIOS as far as auto wake up functions. This happens with the battery in and plugged into the charger and with the battery out running on charger power only, and when the battery is only in it.

I have also tried different ram, power supply, and reset the BIOS to factory defaults.

Any suggestions?
__________________
Keep Calm and Chive On!

Last edited by xxsilk109xx; 04-24-2012 at 11:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-25-2012, 12:02 AM
PCX's Avatar
PCX PCX is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2,789
PCX is just really nicePCX is just really nicePCX is just really nicePCX is just really nice
Default

Only one question at this point, when did this start happening? During your full diagnostics before the repairs or after the diagnostics during the repairs?

What tests have your run?
__________________
_

Did you run a FULL diagnostic?

Are you tired of getting defective iPhone screens? Try eTech. We used to send back boxes of defective iPhone screens to WGP, now we rarely get them.

"The smartest and most successful people in the world are those who surround themselves with smarter and more successful people than themselves"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-25-2012, 01:00 AM
Rob_NNCC's Avatar
Rob_NNCC Rob_NNCC is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Northern Neck of Virginia
Posts: 662
Rob_NNCC is on a distinguished road
Default

I think it is a bios/ACPI issue as I have an HP desktop in our shop that does this. I just have not been bothered to fix it. (read one of our training/Demo PCs)

Last edited by Rob_NNCC; 04-25-2012 at 01:01 AM. Reason: Deleted Repeat word
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-25-2012, 01:08 AM
Mr.Mike Mr.Mike is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: California Central Coast
Posts: 1,130
Mr.Mike is on a distinguished road
Default

You are very sure liquid never touched the Mobo or other pcb's like the on-switch ziff connection or anything else? How about the power switch? That being said, what OS is on the HD? All power and sleep settings in the OS checked?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-25-2012, 02:12 PM
xxsilk109xx's Avatar
xxsilk109xx xxsilk109xx is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 1,220
xxsilk109xx is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I took the lid off of the laptop after i noticed a slight coffee spill and didnt see anything at all that looked dirty. The laptop was in good shape and ran fine, except she didnt have a power cord. She brought it to me with the battery in it, but it was dead of course because it had been sitting. So I charged it and fired it up, saw that the keyboard was sticky and keys were not working, so I ordered a keyboard for it, unplugged it and I dont remember if it just died or if I went to shut it down.

But I replaced the keyboard and reinstalled VISTA fresh onto it and I guess never noticed that it was restarting.

The coffee spill was very slight, not a lot, but I will check the connectors and take the lid off to see if somehow some got through the cracks.

Yes I have checked all power settings, thing is it does it even with a bootdisk so I know its not OS related.

Ill check again for spills on any connections or switches.
__________________
Keep Calm and Chive On!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-25-2012, 02:13 PM
PCX's Avatar
PCX PCX is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2,789
PCX is just really nicePCX is just really nicePCX is just really nicePCX is just really nice
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xxsilk109xx View Post
I took the lid off of the laptop after i noticed a slight coffee spill and didnt see anything at all that looked dirty. The laptop was in good shape and ran fine, except she didnt have a power cord. She brought it to me with the battery in it, but it was dead of course because it had been sitting. So I charged it and fired it up, saw that the keyboard was sticky and keys were not working, so I ordered a keyboard for it, unplugged it and I dont remember if it just died or if I went to shut it down.

But I replaced the keyboard and reinstalled VISTA fresh onto it and I guess never noticed that it was restarting.

The coffee spill was very slight, not a lot, but I will check the connectors and take the lid off to see if somehow some got through the cracks.

Yes I have checked all power settings, thing is it does it even with a bootdisk so I know its not OS related.

Ill check again for spills on any connections or switches.
So, you did not run a diagnostics or check for other issues before you ordered the parts?
__________________
_

Did you run a FULL diagnostic?

Are you tired of getting defective iPhone screens? Try eTech. We used to send back boxes of defective iPhone screens to WGP, now we rarely get them.

"The smartest and most successful people in the world are those who surround themselves with smarter and more successful people than themselves"
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-25-2012, 03:43 PM
xxsilk109xx's Avatar
xxsilk109xx xxsilk109xx is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 1,220
xxsilk109xx is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I took the lid off and looked for other liquid and did not see any, as I said, it was a minor spill. the computer powered on and booted to windows, i did pull the hard drive to backup what data I could and the hard drive checked out. So that was about the extent of it, yeah. I did not notice it power cycling since it seemed to shut off after I checked it out and I did not need it to stay shut off until I was prepping it to give to customer.
__________________
Keep Calm and Chive On!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-25-2012, 03:49 PM
PCX's Avatar
PCX PCX is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2,789
PCX is just really nicePCX is just really nicePCX is just really nicePCX is just really nice
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xxsilk109xx View Post
I took the lid off and looked for other liquid and did not see any, as I said, it was a minor spill. the computer powered on and booted to windows, i did pull the hard drive to backup what data I could and the hard drive checked out. So that was about the extent of it, yeah. I did not notice it power cycling since it seemed to shut off after I checked it out and I did not need it to stay shut off until I was prepping it to give to customer.

This is why it is SOOOO important to run a full diagnostics on each computer before you do the repairs.

Memory, HDD, Motherboard, CPU, GPU. Regardless of physical inspection, you should always always always test the MOBO when it comes to liquid spills. Even if you had not, somewhere along the lines of testing everything, you would have noticed the power issue. You said you checked the hard drive, but with what? Did you do a surface scan? check it with chrystaldiskinfo? did you do a short test? an extended test? What exactly did you do to "check" the hard drive? Please please please tell me you did not do a chkdsk as your HDD diagnostics . . .
__________________
_

Did you run a FULL diagnostic?

Are you tired of getting defective iPhone screens? Try eTech. We used to send back boxes of defective iPhone screens to WGP, now we rarely get them.

"The smartest and most successful people in the world are those who surround themselves with smarter and more successful people than themselves"
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-25-2012, 04:34 PM
xxsilk109xx's Avatar
xxsilk109xx xxsilk109xx is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 1,220
xxsilk109xx is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PCX View Post
This is why it is SOOOO important to run a full diagnostics on each computer before you do the repairs.

Memory, HDD, Motherboard, CPU, GPU. Regardless of physical inspection, you should always always always test the MOBO when it comes to liquid spills. Even if you had not, somewhere along the lines of testing everything, you would have noticed the power issue. You said you checked the hard drive, but with what? Did you do a surface scan? check it with chrystaldiskinfo? did you do a short test? an extended test? What exactly did you do to "check" the hard drive? Please please please tell me you did not do a chkdsk as your HDD diagnostics . . .
No I ran Seagate Seatools on the short/quick and extended test and I checked it with hard disk sentinel. I just checked the motherboard and saw a few drops where some coffee has made it through, so I removed the motherboard and have checked it very well and cleaned any suspicious spots, put it back together and its still doing the same thing.

I am going to check the BIOS...
__________________
Keep Calm and Chive On!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-25-2012, 04:43 PM
PCX's Avatar
PCX PCX is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2,789
PCX is just really nicePCX is just really nicePCX is just really nicePCX is just really nice
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xxsilk109xx View Post
No I ran Seagate Seatools on the short/quick and extended test and I checked it with hard disk sentinel. I just checked the motherboard and saw a few drops where some coffee has made it through, so I removed the motherboard and have checked it very well and cleaned any suspicious spots, put it back together and its still doing the same thing.

I am going to check the BIOS...
Have you tried flashing / updating the bios?
__________________
_

Did you run a FULL diagnostic?

Are you tired of getting defective iPhone screens? Try eTech. We used to send back boxes of defective iPhone screens to WGP, now we rarely get them.

"The smartest and most successful people in the world are those who surround themselves with smarter and more successful people than themselves"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.