Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Tech-to-Tech Computer Help

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-20-2012, 02:50 PM
kisk's Avatar
kisk kisk is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 269
kisk is on a distinguished road
Default Ghost in this machine!

This system has me stumped, and I'm almost convinced it must be possessed.

Dell Studio 1555 w/ Vista Home Premium x64

I received this machine initially because it was cutting off after being powered up. After powering down, you could power it back up and it would cut off sooner. Temps turned out to be a problem, and I found the fan was not powering on. The bearings were fine so I assumed it was electrical. Replaced the fan -- same issues.

So I pushed cold air thru it so it wouldn't shut off and I updated the bios. This fixed the fan issue, but now the computer lags real bad constantly. Another funny thing I noticed was when I check temps using Everest or any temp testing app, the computer freezes for 2 seconds about every 5 seconds while displaying the values. This led me to believe it could be a sensor or related motherboard issue, so I replaced the mobo -- same issues!!

This kept happening with the original OS install. Reinstalled Windows with the recovery partition -- same issue. Wiped drive clear except the dell diagnostics partition. Reinstalled Windows again with an OEM disk -- same issues!!

  • Ram tested, passed
  • Ran Seatools for Dos, both short and long tests, passed
  • Ran BurnInTest, passed
  • Ran Eurosoft Pc-Check, passed


Yet the computer still seems to lag REAL bad constantly.


Here's the HDTune test/SMART status.. the test looks funky but again, long and short Seatools passed.







What the heck is going on here??
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-20-2012, 02:59 PM
Encrypted Existence Encrypted Existence is online now
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,239
Encrypted Existence is on a distinguished road
Default

Looks to me like you need to get another opinion on the HDD. I would use Gsmartcontrol. All the symptoms are there. Or you could just swap the HDD for a new one and install to see if the problem goes away.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-20-2012, 03:01 PM
Slaters Kustum Machines's Avatar
Slaters Kustum Machines Slaters Kustum Machines is online now
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,142
Slaters Kustum Machines is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trusted IT Solutions View Post
Looks to me like you need to get another opinion on the HDD. I would use Gsmartcontrol. All the symptoms are there. Or you could just swap the HDD for a new one and install to see if the problem goes away.
What he said ^^^^^ The signs are pointing to the HDD. Make sure the connection is tight as well, but I would swap in a new HDD to test.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-20-2012, 04:18 PM
ComputerRepairTech's Avatar
ComputerRepairTech ComputerRepairTech is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 2,052
ComputerRepairTech is a jewel in the roughComputerRepairTech is a jewel in the roughComputerRepairTech is a jewel in the rough
Default

Have you checked for throttling? I believe that computers processor is a core 2 duo right? So you could try RMClock.
__________________
Computer Repair Tech
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-20-2012, 07:14 PM
Appleby's Avatar
Appleby Appleby is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,290
Appleby is on a distinguished road
Default

Just a long shot but can you boot from something like an Ubuntu disk and run the computer normally? If so, it might clear up the question of whether its the hard drive or not....
__________________
Simply let your 'Yes' be 'Yes,' and your 'No,' 'No'; anything beyond this comes from the evil one. - Matthew 5:37
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-20-2012, 07:34 PM
kisk's Avatar
kisk kisk is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 269
kisk is on a distinguished road
Default

Checked the throttling.. thats not it.

Stuck a new drive in there, then booted into mini xp and the did the HDTune test.. it looked good, however then I checked temps and still got the 2 second freezes every 5 seconds issue.

Installing vista on this new drive to see how it runs. Will let you know.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-21-2012, 02:42 AM
BigFrog_Computing's Avatar
BigFrog_Computing BigFrog_Computing is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 87
BigFrog_Computing is on a distinguished road
Default

I imagine it will run fine with the new drive. I would say the old drive is bad
based solely on the HDTune benchmark you posted. If you run the bench
from WinPE the graph should not have any spikes, just a smooth curve like the
one below.

Avg throughput should be at least 50MB/sec, especially on a Vista machine.
Vista thrashes drives like crazy unless you disable a bunch of stuff.

Have you tried CoreTemp to see if that also causes the 2 second freeze
when polling CPU temp? Anything in the event log correlating to those freezes?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg HDTune_Benchmark_ST31000524AS.jpg (20.2 KB, 47 views)
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.