Go Back   Technibble Forums > Operating Systems > Apple Macintosh

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-19-2012, 05:55 PM
PCX's Avatar
PCX PCX is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2,797
PCX is just really nicePCX is just really nicePCX is just really nicePCX is just really nice
Default A1181 MacBook does not recognize HDD as correct size. Will not Install OS. IO Error

Ok, so this is a first for me. Everything checks out, nothing other than the old HDD pops on the diagnostics. In fact, the HDD does nothing but click.

Anyways, we are replacing the hard drive with a WD and when we go to install the OS, it says that the drive is a 3.6tb hard drive (its a 500gb) and when I try to format it, it gives me an IO error. Thats it, no OS install. I tried this again with another known good working hard drive of a different size and model and still the same issue. Any ideas?
__________________
_

Did you run a FULL diagnostic?

Are you tired of getting defective iPhone screens? Try eTech. We used to send back boxes of defective iPhone screens to WGP, now we rarely get them.

"The smartest and most successful people in the world are those who surround themselves with smarter and more successful people than themselves"
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-19-2012, 06:07 PM
PaulRome's Avatar
PaulRome PaulRome is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 303
PaulRome is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Have you tried running the disk utility and reformat?
__________________
Only a pessimist complains about the noise when opportunity knocks.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-19-2012, 06:28 PM
PCX's Avatar
PCX PCX is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2,797
PCX is just really nicePCX is just really nicePCX is just really nicePCX is just really nice
Default

Yes . . . . I guess I should have mentioned that I used disk utility during this whole process.
__________________
_

Did you run a FULL diagnostic?

Are you tired of getting defective iPhone screens? Try eTech. We used to send back boxes of defective iPhone screens to WGP, now we rarely get them.

"The smartest and most successful people in the world are those who surround themselves with smarter and more successful people than themselves"
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-19-2012, 07:45 PM
KompuKare's Avatar
KompuKare KompuKare is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 466
KompuKare is on a distinguished road
Default

Haven't done many Macs, but maybe MacOS Disk Utility is having a fit, so have you tried writing a partition table in Linux first?

Intel MacOS uses GUID partitions nowaways (68K and PPC used Apple's own I think).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-19-2012, 08:09 PM
PCX's Avatar
PCX PCX is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2,797
PCX is just really nicePCX is just really nicePCX is just really nicePCX is just really nice
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KompuKare View Post
Haven't done many Macs, but maybe MacOS Disk Utility is having a fit, so have you tried writing a partition table in Linux first?

Intel MacOS uses GUID partitions nowaways (68K and PPC used Apple's own I think).
Yep, I tried that after I had the problem initially, then tried the install again and still the same problem and Disk Utility still sees the hard drive as a 3.6tb hard drive and still refuses to format the hard drive.

I work on Macs all that time and typically have no issues, but this has baffled me.
__________________
_

Did you run a FULL diagnostic?

Are you tired of getting defective iPhone screens? Try eTech. We used to send back boxes of defective iPhone screens to WGP, now we rarely get them.

"The smartest and most successful people in the world are those who surround themselves with smarter and more successful people than themselves"
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-19-2012, 08:49 PM
14049752 14049752 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,314
14049752 has a spectacular aura about14049752 has a spectacular aura about
Default

Are you using the discs that came with the system, or stand-alone OS X discs?


If the stand-alone discs, try a different version. If the original discs, try a newer version. Snow Leopard, if you're not already trying.


The other option is to remove the drive, install OS X with a firewire or usb adapter on the drive. Install OS X updates... then install the drive back into the system internally.

Last edited by 14049752; 04-19-2012 at 08:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-19-2012, 09:23 PM
PCX's Avatar
PCX PCX is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2,797
PCX is just really nicePCX is just really nicePCX is just really nicePCX is just really nice
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 14049752 View Post
Are you using the discs that came with the system, or stand-alone OS X discs?


If the stand-alone discs, try a different version. If the original discs, try a newer version. Snow Leopard, if you're not already trying.


The other option is to remove the drive, install OS X with a firewire or usb adapter on the drive. Install OS X updates... then install the drive back into the system internally.

Ok, an update. What you posted gave me a few ideas. I do not have any firewire here, never had a use for it. But I did try and hook up the hard drive via USB and was able to format it using the same disk. I think installed the hard drive once more and then got and error saying that OSX could not be installed on this hard drive because if failed a volumecheck.

Now, I did test this hard drive, so I know its not a hardware issues.

Anyways, I popped in another disk that was for a different Macbook and while I could not use it to install the OS, I was able to once again get into Disk Utility and format the drive again. I Installed the hard drive and again got the same error.

I was going to post to the log, but it didn't even save it to my flash drive like it was supposed to.

Do you thing that it could be bad disks?
__________________
_

Did you run a FULL diagnostic?

Are you tired of getting defective iPhone screens? Try eTech. We used to send back boxes of defective iPhone screens to WGP, now we rarely get them.

"The smartest and most successful people in the world are those who surround themselves with smarter and more successful people than themselves"
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-19-2012, 09:33 PM
compnet compnet is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 757
compnet will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PCX View Post
Do you thing that it could be bad disks?
I haven't seen this problem on a mac, but I'm leaning more towards a bad controller than the drives.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-19-2012, 09:37 PM
PCX's Avatar
PCX PCX is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2,797
PCX is just really nicePCX is just really nicePCX is just really nicePCX is just really nice
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by compnet View Post
I haven't seen this problem on a mac, but I'm leaning more towards a bad controller than the drives.
This was my first thought, but I am just really hoping that is not the issue.
__________________
_

Did you run a FULL diagnostic?

Are you tired of getting defective iPhone screens? Try eTech. We used to send back boxes of defective iPhone screens to WGP, now we rarely get them.

"The smartest and most successful people in the world are those who surround themselves with smarter and more successful people than themselves"
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-19-2012, 09:49 PM
14049752 14049752 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,314
14049752 has a spectacular aura about14049752 has a spectacular aura about
Default

http://mr.tilyard.info/?p=36

Read all the comments... Had to find my source for when I ran into this, or else I would have posted it earlier.

You need to try a newer disk. Snow Leopard. Or use a smaller drive.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.