Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Guides, Tips and Tricks

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-12-2012, 11:26 PM
kisk's Avatar
kisk kisk is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 269
kisk is on a distinguished road
Default Multiple vnc viewer

I offer free tuneups with every job I do, which isn't hard by any means but definitely time consuming as far as having to get up out of my seat and visit each computer station so I would like to use a multiple VNC viewer solution.

Found a few on google but thought I'd ask here to see if anyone had any experience with one they liked (or disliked).

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-13-2012, 12:31 AM
'putertutor's Avatar
'putertutor 'putertutor is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 955
'putertutor has a spectacular aura about'putertutor has a spectacular aura about
Default

Can't say that I have had need to use a multiple vnc solution. I use a kvm switch. Would that not work for your situation? Sounds like a fairly simple scenario (tuneups) that a KVM switch would be ideal for.
__________________
An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made, in a narrow field.
Niels Bohr
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-13-2012, 12:50 AM
kisk's Avatar
kisk kisk is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 269
kisk is on a distinguished road
Default

I would but my stations are spread out. Would be a lot of wires and the stations are not in eye view.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-13-2012, 03:49 AM
red12049 red12049 is online now
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 992
red12049 has a spectacular aura aboutred12049 has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kisk View Post
I would but my stations are spread out. Would be a lot of wires and the stations are not in eye view.
What about ethernet KVM?

Rick
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-13-2012, 04:33 AM
Lpusedyou Lpusedyou is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: AZ
Posts: 46
Lpusedyou is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Ethernet KVM

I second the suggestion for an Ethernet KVM. They cost a bit more but are totally worth it in the long run. You can find some pretty decent used ones on ebay.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-13-2012, 05:39 AM
kisk's Avatar
kisk kisk is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 269
kisk is on a distinguished road
Default

Ended up using a java app called VNC Thumbnail Viewer -- http://thetechnologyteacher.wordpres...umbnailviewer/ -- coded by a school computer lab teacher. Basically the app polls multiple vnc servers and shows a thumbnail of all the added servers. Works great and all you have to do is switch using the viewer to gain control. Sure, you have to install the vnc server on the client but that takes 10s with the right switches, installs as a service, and can uninstall from my viewer station. Loving this!!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-13-2012, 12:49 PM
pcpickup's Avatar
pcpickup pcpickup is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Taylor MI
Posts: 159
pcpickup is on a distinguished road
Default

Looks nice! I used to use a similar program about 12 year ago when I worked in corporate IT to manage an office of computers.

You could look into using SCPrompt so you don't have to install and remove the VNC software. I use it at my office for both remote support and for local workstations when I am loading updates.
__________________
We are Better Than a Whole Squad of Geeks!

http://www.facebook.com/pcpickup

http://lawrencesystems.com/
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.