Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Tech-to-Tech Computer Help

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-10-2012, 05:57 PM
Boston Pro Comp Serv LLC's Avatar
Boston Pro Comp Serv LLC Boston Pro Comp Serv LLC is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 529
Boston Pro Comp Serv LLC is on a distinguished road
Default Imac a1058 g5?

I'm new to Macs, real new. Anyhow, when it powers on it says the computer needs to be restarted, upon restart it displays the same. Restarting holding the X key did nothing different, restarted holding the option key selected the only icon on the screen which was a HDD pic with an X in the lower right hand corner, still same result. Also tried Command-Option-P-R on start up same result. Like I said I am new to Macs, so what's next?

Thanks!
__________________
Boston Professional Computer Services LLC
www.bostonprocomputer.com

Secatores Customized Software
www.Secatore.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-10-2012, 06:55 PM
14049752 14049752 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,275
14049752 has a spectacular aura about14049752 has a spectacular aura about
Default

So.... If this were a PC, what would you do? Holding the key combos you did is the equivalent of using a boot menu and resetting the bios on a PC....not much of a test of anything.

If it were me, I'd test the hardware. If you don't have hardware tests to run on a PPC mac, you could pull the hdd and ram to test in a pc.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-10-2012, 07:53 PM
compnet compnet is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 757
compnet will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 14049752 View Post
you could pull the hdd and ram to test in a pc.
This. usually macs that say they need to restart on boot are bad memory in my experience. Those white imacs are horrible for blowing up caps though, I think the last 10 I've had in my shop all had multiple blown caps. Thankfully they are one of the only macs that are actually easy to open up and check stuff out/switch ram around.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-10-2012, 08:53 PM
Boston Pro Comp Serv LLC's Avatar
Boston Pro Comp Serv LLC Boston Pro Comp Serv LLC is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 529
Boston Pro Comp Serv LLC is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks for the push in the right direction, I was thinking that if this were a PC what would I do... anyhow, it does look like some of the caps are swollen, but not bursting. I couldn't reach the built in HW test, until I pulled a stick of RAM now I can. Thanks again, this is seriously the first MAC I have ever tried to diagnose.
__________________
Boston Professional Computer Services LLC
www.bostonprocomputer.com

Secatores Customized Software
www.Secatore.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.