Go Back   Technibble Forums > Operating Systems > Microsoft Windows

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-29-2008, 10:37 AM
Azz Azz is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 292
Azz is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Free 2000 Upgrade?

Hi all,

I have a customers PC here that won't boot, they mentioned Antivirus 2009. Anyway, all seemed good until I went to reinstall Windows 2000, which it has on at the moment.

Basically, the COA on the case is for 98. So, I told the customer I need the COA for 2000 and they told me they downloaded a free upgrade to 2000 from the MS Support site.

Has anyone heard of this? And if it is possible to do so, how do I get the COA for it?

Thanks,
Aaron
__________________
PC Repairs Birmingham, Solihull
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-29-2008, 10:43 AM
Simmy's Avatar
Simmy Simmy is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 1,432
Simmy is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Simmy
Default

Can't say I've heard of this. If they downloaded the free upgrade, can they show you where to get it from? The poor sods might have to downgrade to 98 by the sounds of it

It certainly doesn't sound like Microsoft to offer anything for free.
__________________

Computer Repair Bristol | Bristol IT Support
Vidahost Discount Code | FreeAgent Discount Code | PM Me For A TeamViewer Discount Code
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-29-2008, 11:26 AM
Azz Azz is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 292
Azz is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Simmy View Post
Can't say I've heard of this. If they downloaded the free upgrade, can they show you where to get it from? The poor sods might have to downgrade to 98 by the sounds of it

It certainly doesn't sound like Microsoft to offer anything for free.
I thought they wouldn't give anything away free...

Thing is, it is an old company PC, so the COA might be a mass licence thingy that will no longer work...

Aaron
__________________
PC Repairs Birmingham, Solihull
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-29-2008, 12:07 PM
jj2000's Avatar
jj2000 jj2000 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 342
jj2000 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via Skype™ to jj2000
Default

the Coa should still work but if in doubt have a look on ebay for a legit 2000 cd and new licence,they were not that expensive last time i needed one.
__________________
freedom is only a hallucination
That waits at the edge of the distant horizon
And we are all strangers in global illusion
Wanting and needing impossible heaven.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-29-2008, 01:42 PM
Blues's Avatar
Blues Blues is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tennessee, US
Posts: 1,681
Blues is on a distinguished road
Default

I have seen a Win2k CD that does not ask for a license key so it might have been that version.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-30-2008, 07:50 AM
Azz Azz is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 292
Azz is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

He said he downloaded it.

I got the COA by using UBCD and tried to do a repair install of 2000 and it didn't like the COA.

So I am now instaling 98 for him.

Thanks,
Aaron
__________________
PC Repairs Birmingham, Solihull
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-30-2008, 08:33 AM
Azz Azz is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 292
Azz is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

The fun continues!

When I try to install 98 SE its says "Insufficient Memory" at the checking the system stage?

Any ideas?

Update:

It seems to be the Hard Drive which is a 10GB~?
__________________
PC Repairs Birmingham, Solihull

Last edited by Azz; 10-30-2008 at 09:09 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-30-2008, 01:10 PM
Bullfighter's Avatar
Bullfighter Bullfighter is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Selkirk, Manitoba
Posts: 365
Bullfighter is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via Skype™ to Bullfighter
Default

It wouldn't be the space, otherwise you'd get a "not enough hard disk space..." or something similar.

Bad memory perhaps.

You mentioned it wouldn't boot before, what exactly was it doing (i.e freezing, blue screen, black screen w/blinking cursor etc...)?

EP
__________________

Eddie

REP4 Technologies Inc.
"Smart Business IT Solutions"
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-30-2008, 01:34 PM
Blues's Avatar
Blues Blues is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tennessee, US
Posts: 1,681
Blues is on a distinguished road
Default

This is looking like bad RAM or bad MB at this point witht he type of errors you are getting.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-30-2008, 07:50 PM
Azz Azz is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 292
Azz is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Hi,

Thanks for all the replies.

I tried another HDD and 98 went to install, so I got the customers drive and use XP installation to do a full FAT format. After this 98 installed no problems, so it looks like it was a file system problem.

Thanks for all the help...

Aaron
__________________
PC Repairs Birmingham, Solihull
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.