Go Back   Technibble Forums > Operating Systems > Microsoft Windows

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-23-2012, 10:02 PM
microbert microbert is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Malta
Posts: 14
microbert is an unknown quantity at this point
Unhappy Vista: black screen with movable cursor

Hi,

I have a client which have a problem with windows vista.

He is getting a black screen with movable cursor or KSOD (Black Screen Of Death).

What happens:
- The system powers on.
- POST and BIOS is loaded
- Start windows normally - windows loading screen
- Black screen - with mouse

What I can do:
- I CAN enter BIOS.
- I CAN press F8 to give me advanced boot options,
but all options have the same result, apart from "Repair your computer".
- I CAN load the "Repair your computer" option.
- I CAN move the mouse around the screen.
- I CAN press shift 5 times to get a dialogue to appear, but no control panel.
- Safe mode or safe mode with command prompt is not working - give the same problem.

I CANNOT seem to do anything else.

I have tried:
- Startup Repair - Could not detect a problem.
- System Restore - No restore points.
- Windows Memory Diagnostics - No errors.

I am trying to solve this problem without making a new installation of windows, since my client is not that literate and it will take me a lot of time to setup every thing as it was since I cannot see how it was.

I'm sure that this is a windows bug after an update.

Did anyone met this problem? or Is there someone that Can recommend what steps I should try to resolve this?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-23-2012, 10:27 PM
JD1248's Avatar
JD1248 JD1248 is online now
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Illinois,USA
Posts: 180
JD1248 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I've never been able to fix it. Have had this at least 3x. Every time has resulted in a backup/reload. Let us know if you have better luck.

JD
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-23-2012, 10:37 PM
DCGPX's Avatar
DCGPX DCGPX is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bradford, United kingdom
Posts: 992
DCGPX is on a distinguished road
Default

Same here - Sorry but once I see it now I just say backup/reload.

I've spend an age on these and now just think no more. Time is money, I've not learnt how to fix it even MS give up! Its a Vista nightmare, I accept it and move on.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-23-2012, 10:49 PM
geekhelp4u's Avatar
geekhelp4u geekhelp4u is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cypress, Texas
Posts: 835
geekhelp4u will become famous soon enough
Send a message via Skype™ to geekhelp4u
Default

can you ctrl alt del and open task manager > Then start explorer.exe ?
__________________
-----------------------------------
Chris Pfeffer

Military: United States Army Communications and Networking Specialist
Civilian: Service Desk Team Lead


http://www.geekhelp4u.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-23-2012, 10:53 PM
DCGPX's Avatar
DCGPX DCGPX is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bradford, United kingdom
Posts: 992
DCGPX is on a distinguished road
Default

Actually G4U might have a point in your case, do a search on how to have the Sticky dialogue point to a file and use it to try get taskmgr or explorer up.

In all my cases I couldnt get to this point mine were all nothing but black screen.

You might have a chance with this one.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-23-2012, 11:08 PM
iisjman07's Avatar
iisjman07 iisjman07 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: South End Of The UK
Posts: 3,049
iisjman07 has a spectacular aura aboutiisjman07 has a spectacular aura about
Default

I think I've seen this a couple of time, once it did get going after I ran a 'chkdsk /r' on the partition, but I think was a fluke. Another time it turned out the hard drive was bad, so that was a good excuse for a reinstall of windows. I don't believe there is a 100% foolpoof method to fix the ksod
__________________
put that in your pipe and grep it
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-23-2012, 11:33 PM
Tekguy Tekguy is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 341
Tekguy is on a distinguished road
Default

I had the KSOD on a Vista laptop before. I got lucky & was able to fix it by deleting the log files in C:\Windows\System32\Winevt\logs
It seems like there are several causes of the KSOD so deleting the log files may not fix it, but it's worth a try.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-23-2012, 11:43 PM
PCX's Avatar
PCX PCX is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2,775
PCX is just really nicePCX is just really nicePCX is just really nicePCX is just really nice
Default

I am ashamed to admit this, but I have had this issue several times and I spent so many hours trying to troubleshoot it and each time, I got no where. NP.

And as always, have you tested the hard drive?
__________________
_

Did you run a FULL diagnostic?

Are you tired of getting defective iPhone screens? Try eTech. We used to send back boxes of defective iPhone screens to WGP, now we rarely get them.

"The smartest and most successful people in the world are those who surround themselves with smarter and more successful people than themselves"
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-24-2012, 06:55 AM
microbert microbert is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Malta
Posts: 14
microbert is an unknown quantity at this point
Exclamation

Hi,

thanks for yor replies and when I read yours, I noticed that I am not alone on this one.

Ihave tried to open the task manager but it wont open. I tried by pressing ctrl+alt+del and by ctrl+shift+esc but no luck on the task manager.

About the sticky keys I only managed to open the sticky keys windows when you press shift for 5 times, but than thats it.

Deleting the logs was one of the first things that I tried but no luck either.C:\Windows\System32\Winevt\logs

I have checked the hdd, and it was good no problems not even 1kb of bad sector.

I am starting to think that the only solution is to make a new installation and a big nightmare for me.

thanks guys and if i find a solution i let you know.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-24-2012, 08:39 AM
Scales Scales is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 150
Scales is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I may be mistaken but if I remember right I fixed this by loading the registry hives to make a few adjustments and then used the command line to manually restore registry from a previous time. Followed some instructions online.

I know that sounds vague but it may give a little help if using the google machine. I had meant to add this fix to my intranet wiki but ended up being too busy with the new shop and now I have let it slip my mind.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.