Go Back   Technibble Forums > Technical Discussions > Networking

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-20-2012, 07:51 PM
Dameize Dameize is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 661
Dameize is on a distinguished road
Default Need some subnetting packet tracer help

Hello All,
My uni asesment is coming up with configing a cisco router etc with 3-4 subnets etc and im quite behind on subnetting.. can anyone help me with this if i show you the assesment sheet.

I just need some advice on subnetting and how I would apply it in packet tracer to this scenario. I can return the favour in SEO or website related things or articles etc.

If you can spare 30mins to help me then add me on skype its dameize we can talk on there about it and ill sen you the file.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-20-2012, 08:03 PM
teksquad teksquad is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Raleigh, NC USA
Posts: 162
teksquad is on a distinguished road
Default

Not much info to go on there. How many networks are required? How many hosts per subnet? There are tons of subnetting material on the web.


http://www.cisco.com/en/US/tech/tk36...800a67f5.shtml
__________________
Andrew Bromfield
andrew@teksquad.net
http://teksquad.net

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-20-2012, 08:10 PM
Dameize Dameize is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 661
Dameize is on a distinguished road
Default

Its one network with 4 subnets

200 in one and then under 100 in the other 3.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-20-2012, 08:22 PM
Dameize Dameize is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 661
Dameize is on a distinguished road
Default

Forgot to mention but i was doing a website for someone and they could only meet me the day I had my networking class so I had the choice of money or the class and I chose the money meaning I missed the lesson. The same happened again for revisions and a few weeks later I had to go to the hospital over something missing yet another lesson and the teacher does nto have time to redo things specifically with me and others are busy studying so it makes it hard catching up.

cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-20-2012, 08:28 PM
teksquad teksquad is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Raleigh, NC USA
Posts: 162
teksquad is on a distinguished road
Default

192.168.0.0/24 = Subnet ID

192.168.0.1 - 192.168.0.254 = 254 Host Addresses

192.168.0.255 = Broadcast Address


192.168.1.0/25 = Subnet ID

192.168.1.1 - 192.168.1.126 = 126 Host Addresses

192.168.1.127 = Broadcast Address


192.168.1.128/25 = Subnet ID

192.168.1.129 - 192.168.1.254 = 126 Host Addresses

192.168.1.255 = Broadcast Address



192.168.2.0/25 = Subnet ID

192.168.2.1 - 192.168.2.126 = 126 Host Addresses

192.168.2.127 = Broadcast Address



All networks are part of the major network 192.168.0.0/16.
__________________
Andrew Bromfield
andrew@teksquad.net
http://teksquad.net


Last edited by teksquad; 03-20-2012 at 08:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-20-2012, 08:35 PM
NETWizz NETWizz is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,397
NETWizz has a spectacular aura aboutNETWizz has a spectacular aura about
Default

I would be happy to help if you PM me the info.

What are the requirements of Packet Tracer?

Do you need to configure the sub-nets? How many routers will be there in the topology?


If it is just one router, you can always put all four (4) directly connected networks on it and it will work just fine. You really need only setup IP routes or routing protocols when you want to advertise routes to other routers, so they can build their static or dynamic routing tables with knowledge of indirectly connected network subnets.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.