Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Tech-to-Tech Computer Help

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-16-2012, 01:10 PM
tankman1989's Avatar
tankman1989 tankman1989 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,150
tankman1989 is on a distinguished road
Question I just spent 4 hours resurrecting an old Windows box now "grub loading. error"

Ok, full Win 7 Pro install. All updates, every single one. I finally do a reboot and now I am getting this:

Quote:
Verifying DMI Pool Data ..........
Grub Loading.
Error: No such partition
grub rescue>
This install is on a clean drive, I took a 160 gb drive, created a 60gb Partition for the OS and left the rest blank. Ran updates, ran Spybot immunize now this.

Any ideas as to what this means? I am completely baffled.

I popped my install DVD back in and Windows booted right up to the login screen. Am I somehow running my OS from the DVD?
I just checked my Computer Management screen and the Disk Management and it says my d: (optical) is my primary partition

IDK what is going on. Here come pics.

Last edited by tankman1989; 03-16-2012 at 01:26 PM. Reason: Strange thing:
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-16-2012, 01:18 PM
Cambridge PC Support's Avatar
Cambridge PC Support Cambridge PC Support is online now
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cambridge UK
Posts: 2,142
Cambridge PC Support has a spectacular aura aboutCambridge PC Support has a spectacular aura about
Default

I don't know this for a fact, but 10 seconds on Google makes me believe that:

It looks like it used to have Linux of some shape on it.

You need to fixboot and fixmbr it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-16-2012, 01:22 PM
Cadishead Computers's Avatar
Cadishead Computers Cadishead Computers is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 4,067
Cadishead Computers is a jewel in the roughCadishead Computers is a jewel in the roughCadishead Computers is a jewel in the rough
Default

I agree with kev. Did you do a zero format of this drive, or was it a quick format?.. that is if you formatted the drive.

That is a linux command line prompt for sure..
__________________
Hope this helps
Be Safe

Nige
Cadishead Computers
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-16-2012, 01:27 PM
DCGPX's Avatar
DCGPX DCGPX is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bradford, United kingdom
Posts: 992
DCGPX is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tankman1989 View Post
Ok, full Win 7 Pro install. All updates, every single one. I finally do a reboot and now I am getting this:



This install is on a clean drive, I took a 160 gb drive, created a 60gb Partition for the OS and left the rest blank. Ran updates, ran Spybot immunize now this.

Any ideas as to what this means? I am completely baffled.
Did you chance use the Easus Partition tool from an earlier thread of yours?

Might account for the Linux remnant.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-16-2012, 01:33 PM
tankman1989's Avatar
tankman1989 tankman1989 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,150
tankman1989 is on a distinguished road
Question

So here is what it looks like in Computer Management - Disk Management:


C Drive is what the OS was installed to, e: drive was empty until now, F: had info from an old PC but it wasn't given a letter until just now.

Any ideas as to why I am getting that Grub error? Is Grub even used with Windows?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-16-2012, 01:40 PM
TLE's Avatar
TLE TLE is online now
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,239
TLE is on a distinguished road
Default

You can use Grub for Dual boots with Windows and Linux. I would do as the other have suggested and perform a fixboot and fixmbr.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-16-2012, 01:41 PM
tankman1989's Avatar
tankman1989 tankman1989 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,150
tankman1989 is on a distinguished road
Default

The drive is from a laptop that had Vista on it as far as I can recall. When I did the install it showed the 2 drives, one 320GB partition and and other drive with a 160Gb partition. I deleted the 160Gb partition because that was the SATA drive I wanted t oinstall. I then created a new partition of 60GB and went on my way.

The computer boots fine if the Windows install disc is in it. I missed the point where it said to remove the media from the drive during the install. Could that have something to do with it?

As soon as I remove the DVD and boot it goes back to the Grub loading thing.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-16-2012, 01:43 PM
tankman1989's Avatar
tankman1989 tankman1989 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,150
tankman1989 is on a distinguished road
Default

So is this salvageable or should I just do a fresh install?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-16-2012, 01:43 PM
TLE's Avatar
TLE TLE is online now
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,239
TLE is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tankman1989 View Post
The drive is from a laptop that had Vista on it as far as I can recall. When I did the install it showed the 2 drives, one 320GB partition and and other drive with a 160Gb partition. I deleted the 160Gb partition because that was the SATA drive I wanted t oinstall. I then created a new partition of 60GB and went on my way.

The computer boots fine if the Windows install disc is in it. I missed the point where it said to remove the media from the drive during the install. Could that have something to do with it?

As soon as I remove the DVD and boot it goes back to the Grub loading thing.
Sounds like the MBR was never rewritten after installing windows again. Boot to the OS Install disc and repair the MBR, that should overwrite Grub.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.