Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Tech-to-Tech Computer Help

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-13-2012, 03:48 PM
lan101 lan101 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 820
lan101 is on a distinguished road
Default

still no difference...they are switching to time warner cable soon...it just become available to them...we shall see if that does anything different.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-13-2012, 09:41 PM
NerdDetective NerdDetective is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 14
NerdDetective is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Since another computer on the same network works fine, and you switched the ethernet cable and router port, it's safe to assume that the problem is directly linked to the PC (either hardware or software). I would say software, however...

Have you looked at the router itself? Many routers have access control settings that can block a MAC or IP address from specified websites. You could also try manually changing the computer's IP address, just to be sure it's not an issue with the IP address and the router.

You could also try a live Linux distro to make sure there's not a bizarre issue going on which isn't related to software. There's also the option of switching the actual router with a spare and seeing if that changes anything.

Thinking outside the (router) box... have you looked into parental controls? Maybe someone accidentally (or improperly) set up parental controls on the computer.

Have you tried running nslookup, ping, or tracert from the computer? It would be interesting if you could get a ping to Facebook. You might also try a text web browser like Lynx, just to see if you can get any web data at all from the sites.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-14-2012, 01:08 AM
glricht glricht is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Zephyrhills, Florida
Posts: 874
glricht has a spectacular aura aboutglricht has a spectacular aura about
Default

Have you checked the HOSTS file?
__________________
Gary Richtmeyer
C&G Web Enterprises
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-17-2012, 04:08 AM
lan101 lan101 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 820
lan101 is on a distinguished road
Default

This customer got their new internet service and the problem went away. So problem solved, but still don't know why lol
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.