Go Back   Technibble Forums > Operating Systems > Microsoft Windows

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31  
Old 03-02-2012, 01:25 PM
glricht glricht is online now
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Zephyrhills, Florida
Posts: 861
glricht has a spectacular aura aboutglricht has a spectacular aura about
Default

I've got the 64-bit version running on one of my test boxes. My initial reaction was "egad, this sucks!"

ZDNet's Ed Bott has a pretty good blog post about it, and using his blog, I've been able to make some headway using it.
http://www.zdnet.com/blog/bott/getti...soft+Report%29

Also, a blog post by CNET's Seth Rosenbloom:
http://reviews.cnet.com/8301-13970_7...s/?tag=nl.e404

One interesting thing is that antivirus/antispyware is built-in (Windows Defender)

Like it or not, we're all going to have to learn this ... and my guess is it's going to be a big learning curve.
__________________
Gary Richtmeyer
C&G Web Enterprises

Last edited by glricht; 03-02-2012 at 01:51 PM. Reason: Added cnet blog reference
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 03-02-2012, 11:33 PM
Paul Rodgers Paul Rodgers is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2,006
Paul Rodgers will become famous soon enough
Default

I'm shrinking the hdd on my main laptop so I can play around with it. I have a feeling that this will be the first non-release version of Windows that I don't use as a main OS.

I think that metro should be optional when no touch input is available. The OS should default to the Aero UI.

Also they should be using this as an opportunity to kill 16 bit legacy support which I'm guessing they still include within x86 and x64 versions.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 03-02-2012, 11:34 PM
Dean Dean is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Campbell River, B.C, Canada
Posts: 22
Dean is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I just installed win 8 on a Toshiba L300D-ab2 AMD with a 2gb of RAM
Things are really different but the same once you start fooling around. Links to social media is huge, I do like some of the home screen (apps etc)
The installer worked seamlessly. It is actually works like installing win 7 over vista. Automatic save of winold folder. I installed onto a fresh install of Vista. Come with a great pinball game again YEA! I will post more as I play more.
Dean
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 03-03-2012, 12:56 AM
HawkinsPC's Avatar
HawkinsPC HawkinsPC is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Alabama
Posts: 293
HawkinsPC is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tekguy View Post
I installed it on a spare pc & I'm not overly impressed so far. Why does it take 100 steps to turn off this thing?
I was incredibly flustered trying to use it... and you nailed it on the head with trying to turn it off! I couldn't get Win8 off my laptop fast enough.

The apps were horrendous. I think it has potential on tablets, but definitely not my laptop.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 03-03-2012, 01:44 AM
twincountycomputers twincountycomputers is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Galax, Va
Posts: 334
twincountycomputers is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I can't figure out what MS is thinking with the direction their taking with windows 8, if I wanted a "smart phone" experience on a big screen monitor I would run an android emulator

mabye Windows versions are coming to be like start trek movies, every other movie bombs at the box office
__________________
Twin County Computers LLC | Twin County Security LLC
Computer Sales & Repair, Networking, Web Design
Burglar Alarms, Fire Alarms, Video Surveillance
PO Box 456
Woodlawn, Va 24381
30 Melrose Ln
Galax, Va
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 03-03-2012, 02:34 AM
16k_zx81's Avatar
16k_zx81 16k_zx81 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,825
16k_zx81 is a jewel in the rough16k_zx81 is a jewel in the rough16k_zx81 is a jewel in the rough
Default

In a parallell reality somewhere, where respect for consumer choice is a consideration:

Windows Installer Options:

"Windows 8 has a new UI called Metro. Would you prefer to use this or the traditional Start Menu?"

1.Metro
2.Start Menu


---

But no.

I can see various Start Menu tweaks being standard fare with the initial release of the OS if they continue to insist on Metro as the default.

Stupid.

.,
__________________
"Do something you love, and you'll never work a day in your life"
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 03-03-2012, 03:16 AM
JW The Computer Guy JW The Computer Guy is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 395
JW The Computer Guy is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to JW The Computer Guy
Default

I just installed it on my old machine with 512mb ram, it runs at the speed of light! Very snappy.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 03-03-2012, 04:59 AM
Aescaepulus Aescaepulus is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Medford, OR
Posts: 45
Aescaepulus is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Looks good, but has a ways to go. Also....

I have fielded a few support calls already about this, but it seems a lot of folks aren't reading the fine print about the OS being overwritten by Win 8, and that to return to the previous version the OEM disc would be needed....

I have already posted to my page the warning to have their install / recovery disc on hand before attempting the Win 8 install, as it is not a dual boot release!

Otherwise, Win 8 has a ways to go, which is what Microsoft said, but if they go the same route with customer input they did with Win 7, it'll be a winner.

I am more interested in what it will do in the mobile PC (tablet) environment, to see how well it will integrate into healthcare HIS /RIS operations.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 03-03-2012, 09:10 PM
ljtechservices ljtechservices is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Normal, IL
Posts: 638
ljtechservices is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Skype™ to ljtechservices
Default

pulled an old laptop drive off the shelf and installed it on my laptop to mess with this weekend.

Dislikes:
User integration with Windows live on setup. you can just setup a local user but it's not readily apparent at the start.
start menu and the tabletly feeling. there should be a choice as was said by 16k_zx81. Desktop and tablet mode mayber?
The mail app doesn't have support for IMAP. not a deal killer but certainly annoying for a mail client.
Google integration only loads the default calendar in the calendar app. not good if you have several calendars.
I realize the apps probably aren't the finished product, but there are some glaring omissions.
I spent an hour working with it in a domain and hopefully there's some GPO's to control the start menu look and feel.

Likes: Doesn't look like they botched up anything that worked in win 7.
can still install my VPN client. remote to my clients, etc.

So far my verdict is a big fat "why bother unless you are forced to".
__________________
"..You are not brought upon this world to get it!" ~ David Lo Pan
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 03-03-2012, 11:31 PM
agile agile is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 71
agile is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

suprised no one has talked about this: windows 8 push button reset
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.