Go Back   Technibble Forums > Technical Discussions > Networking

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-11-2012, 09:08 PM
MSgherzi's Avatar
MSgherzi MSgherzi is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Tehachapi, California
Posts: 369
MSgherzi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default How far apart do APs need to be?

I have a business in which I am going to need to get a lot of wireless users online at one time, and I am probably going to need to put anywhere from 4-5 APs in a single room. WLAN controllers aside, how far apart should they be in order to minimize interference from one another? Or is it simply a matter of turning down their power in order to try and cover a smaller distance within that individual room?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-11-2012, 11:39 PM
rsarceno's Avatar
rsarceno rsarceno is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 970
rsarceno will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MSgherzi View Post
I have a business in which I am going to need to get a lot of wireless users online at one time, and I am probably going to need to put anywhere from 4-5 APs in a single room. WLAN controllers aside, how far apart should they be in order to minimize interference from one another? Or is it simply a matter of turning down their power in order to try and cover a smaller distance within that individual room?

Thanks!
Cisco says 1 ap for every 5000 sf for data. This number didn't work for me, For 7500 sf, I end up deploying 6 Ap's. If your using Cisco WLC, you need to cover each section with 3 AP for triangulation to take advantage of the WLC management. Just make sure the channel setting for each AP is a least 4 channel apart to avoid conflict.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-12-2012, 12:25 AM
YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
YeOldeStonecat YeOldeStonecat is online now
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Southeast Connecticut
Posts: 7,794
YeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to beholdYeOldeStonecat is a splendid one to behold
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MSgherzi View Post
and I am probably going to need to put anywhere from 4-5 APs in a single room. WLAN controllers aside,
To be honest...I'd not try to do that...4-5 in one room...each running independently (without a controller). How many people? Get a couple of biz grade ones with a controller that can handle lots of concurrent clients and automatically handles the load balancing of clients and seamless handoffs. 4-5 in one room..you will end up with at least a couple that overlap channels..and that close together...will be bad.
__________________
Resident "Geek on a Harley" doing IT in Southeast Connecticut
http://www.dynamic-alliance.com/
https://www.facebook.com/YeOldeStonecat
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-13-2012, 06:33 AM
MSgherzi's Avatar
MSgherzi MSgherzi is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Tehachapi, California
Posts: 369
MSgherzi is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YeOldeStonecat View Post
To be honest...I'd not try to do that...4-5 in one room...each running independently (without a controller). How many people? Get a couple of biz grade ones with a controller that can handle lots of concurrent clients and automatically handles the load balancing of clients and seamless handoffs. 4-5 in one room..you will end up with at least a couple that overlap channels..and that close together...will be bad.
Well I honestly did plan on using a WLAN Controller and some business grade APs, I just wasn't sure how many I could get into one room without causing any problems.


EDIT: Around 75 people.

Last edited by MSgherzi; 01-13-2012 at 07:06 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-13-2012, 10:32 AM
krtechsolutions's Avatar
krtechsolutions krtechsolutions is online now
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 529
krtechsolutions is on a distinguished road
Default

The controller "should" be smart enough to adjust power settings and the channel to avoid noise from other close APs.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.