Go Back   Technibble Forums > Operating Systems > Microsoft Windows

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-24-2008, 01:47 AM
geekhelp4u's Avatar
geekhelp4u geekhelp4u is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cypress, Texas
Posts: 839
geekhelp4u will become famous soon enough
Send a message via Skype™ to geekhelp4u
Default Offline Update

I know we talked about it before, but figured I would get an update. What do you guys prefer?

Ctupdate or Autopatcher?

Which one is better for use in a corp. environment?

Does anyone have a better option or program to update windows?
__________________
-----------------------------------
Chris Pfeffer

Military: United States Army Communications and Networking Specialist
Civilian: Service Desk Team Lead


http://www.geekhelp4u.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-24-2008, 05:02 AM
Skyhooker's Avatar
Skyhooker Skyhooker is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dundee, Illinois
Posts: 783
Skyhooker is on a distinguished road
Default

I was looking for an offline update prog yesterday, downloaded Autopatcher, and set it do download almost 3 GB of updates for all the flavors of Windows. The first run went well, but when I ran the update utility today, there were some bugs (others have commented on them in their forums). I think once they have the bugs worked out it will be a great program (they don't sound major, and I expect they will come out with a fix soon).

I can't comment yet on any other programs, but will try others this week.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-24-2008, 08:11 AM
Simmy's Avatar
Simmy Simmy is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 1,435
Simmy is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Simmy
Default

I didn't realise autopatcher was available again. This used to be the best/most used program on my pendrive. Why have microsoft allowed this version, but not previous ones?

One thing I have noticed about ctupdate is it's inability to work out what updates you've already downloaded. Instead it just restarts downloading everything. Is there a way round that?
__________________

Computer Repair Bristol | Bristol IT Support
Vidahost Discount Code | FreeAgent Discount Code | PM Me For A TeamViewer Discount Code

Last edited by Simmy; 09-24-2008 at 08:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.