Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Tech-to-Tech Computer Help

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-30-2011, 10:22 AM
Azz Azz is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 293
Azz is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Acer Aspire 7720 video driver problem

Hi all,

Hope you all had a good xmas and are looking forward to the new year.

I have a Acer Aspire here that was described as having a BSOD and wouldn't boot. After looking into it it seems the cause of the BSOD is the Nvidia driver. So I uninstall the current driver (in safe mode that works fine) and it boots no problems. Install the latest driver and it either boots with corrupt graphics or just sticks on a black screen.

So im kind of stuck, I have tried older drivers and it does the same, I have restored it back to a previous point in case there are some update conflicts but its the same.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,
Aaron
__________________
PC Repairs Birmingham, Solihull
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-30-2011, 11:42 AM
DCGPX's Avatar
DCGPX DCGPX is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bradford, United kingdom
Posts: 992
DCGPX is on a distinguished road
Default

Where are you getting the latest drivers from?

Occasionally I've had drivers from Nvidia site not work and generally I go for the ones from the manufacturers site ie direct download from Acer.

Have you tried latest from both sites and are symptoms the same?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-30-2011, 12:13 PM
Azz Azz is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 293
Azz is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DCGPX View Post
Where are you getting the latest drivers from?

Occasionally I've had drivers from Nvidia site not work and generally I go for the ones from the manufacturers site ie direct download from Acer.

Have you tried latest from both sites and are symptoms the same?
See that's why I asked, just going to try driver from Acers site.
__________________
PC Repairs Birmingham, Solihull
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-30-2011, 02:04 PM
Azz Azz is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 293
Azz is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Still the same, installed driver from Acer site and get blue screen when restarted. Uninstall driver and boots fine but installs video driver itself and then boots to black screen.
__________________
PC Repairs Birmingham, Solihull
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-30-2011, 03:16 PM
DCGPX's Avatar
DCGPX DCGPX is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bradford, United kingdom
Posts: 992
DCGPX is on a distinguished road
Default

Ok time for info :

What OS? 32bit or 64bit

What else was loaded prior to BSOD thats known about?

Last post says to black screen not blue??

Have you tried :

Reload defaults in BIOS

Reload chipset drivers from Acer

Does it boot in safemode, if so set resolution to low and 16bit and try it then
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-30-2011, 03:25 PM
Azz Azz is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 293
Azz is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

What OS? 32bit or 64bit
Vista 32bit

What else was loaded prior to BSOD thats known about?
I am told nothing was installed, to make sure I restored it to a few weeks ago

Last post says to black screen not blue??
Customer says it was BSOD and wouldn't boot, when I got it all it would do is boot to a black screen. According to the DMP files the BSOd was caused by an Nvidia file so first thing I do is boot into safe mode and uninstall the Nvidia driver. Boot to normal and it boots ok but obviously a smaller resolution. Download the latest diver from Nvidia and install that and when restarted it booted but blue screen'd. Then when restarted black screen again.

Have you tried :

Reload defaults in BIOS
No

Reload chipset drivers from Acer
No

Does it boot in safemode, if so set resolution to low and 16bit and try it then
Does boot into safe mode

Have just manually installed the driver instead of using the Nvidia exe. Fingers crossed it has booted ok and seems fine. Will see if it stays that way.
__________________
PC Repairs Birmingham, Solihull
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-30-2011, 03:32 PM
DCGPX's Avatar
DCGPX DCGPX is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bradford, United kingdom
Posts: 992
DCGPX is on a distinguished road
Default

Maybe you had an issue with Nvidia control centre, as long as it works then doubt customer would miss this bit.

I'd try different resolutions/bits just to check that its ok in that respect before handing it back.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-07-2012, 05:28 PM
Azz Azz is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 293
Azz is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Well I thought it was sorted but its not.

Even though I tested it about 20 times it has done it again.

To recap.

It seems when an nvidia driver is installed it either blue screens or boots and has corrupt graphics (usually lines). Boots fine into safe mode and if you install the video driver it boots fine no problems.

Im all out of ideas now. Any more suggestions?
__________________
PC Repairs Birmingham, Solihull
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-07-2012, 05:38 PM
FoolishTech's Avatar
FoolishTech FoolishTech is online now
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Manteo, NC (USA)
Posts: 2,756
FoolishTech is a jewel in the roughFoolishTech is a jewel in the roughFoolishTech is a jewel in the rough
Default

I didn't read this whole thread so I apologize if this has been tried, but I can tell you I've had similar issues, where installing newer OR older drivers caused the BSOD, and only VGA mode or an MS driver seems to work. Here's how I fixed it:
  1. Boot to VGA mode or an offline environment
  2. Find the driver FILES themselves. DriverView helps with that.
  3. Delete them all without prejudice.
  4. Reinstall any driver, new or old (just not the problematic one of course LOL)
What I've found that happens is sometimes driver installers don't overwrite existing driver files, especially if they are older file versions, but EVEN IF THEY ARE NEWER VERSIONS... Maybe the latter if the file is corrupted, I don't know. The whole thing just puzzled me. But after resolving the issue that way, this is how I handle these situations now.

Good luck!
__________________


Author of d7 & d7II, and TONS of other FREE PC technician's tools. www.FoolishIT.com

Author of CryptoPrevent - Crypto/Malware prevention for any OS.

Latest free tool: dBug - Neutralize malware preventing you from running removal tools.

NEW d7II single technician pricing!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.