Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Tech-to-Tech Computer Help

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-29-2011, 04:56 PM
wiz329 wiz329 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 8
wiz329 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default reinstall windows error: ftdisk.sys

I am reinstalling windows on a computer, so I wiped the drive with DBAN, then used the windows disc that came with the computer. However, I got an error:

File ftdisk.sys caused an unexpected error (47872) at line 5897 in d:\xpsp1\base\boot\setup\setup.c.

I tried googling but didn't come up with much. Sounds like maybe a driver problem?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-29-2011, 05:03 PM
phaZed's Avatar
phaZed phaZed is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,533
phaZed has a spectacular aura aboutphaZed has a spectacular aura about
Default

Shouldn't be a driver problem... especially if it is the OEM disk that came with the computer.

I would consider swapping memory out and/or testing it.

Are you getting this error before Windows loads the installer, during the install, or upon reboot?

Does the installation see your hard drive?
__________________

Aaron Heidlebaugh
Computer Technician / Owner
www.AaronsPCSupport.com
804-307-4465 (Call or Text)
Laptop LCD repair | DC Power Jack Repair | Virus Removal
Desktop Repair | Hardware | Software | Troubleshooting
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-29-2011, 05:16 PM
Tekko Tekko is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: WI
Posts: 409
Tekko will become famous soon enough
Default

Format the drive with a boot disk and then re-try the install.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-29-2011, 05:27 PM
wiz329 wiz329 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 8
wiz329 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I don't think it is a memory problem. It was running just fine before I wiped it. But I'm doing diagnostics to check for that now.

It gets past the BIOS screen, boots into a blue plaintext screen that says "Windows Setup Utility". At the bottom it says it starts loading various things (kernal debugger dll, windows setup, PCI bus driver ... various other drivers), then when it gets to "Mount Point Manager" it stalls, then gives me the error.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg photo.JPG (85.3 KB, 88 views)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-29-2011, 06:36 PM
Mr.Mike Mr.Mike is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: California Central Coast
Posts: 1,130
Mr.Mike is on a distinguished road
Default

Problems with the OEM disk? Problems with CD/DVD ROM? Check for smudges on the disk. Something seems to be interfering with the data transfer from the disk.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-30-2011, 06:01 PM
wiz329 wiz329 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 8
wiz329 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

edit: I managed to reformat from GParted Live ... but still got the same error screen.

Could anything be causing this besides a bad DVD drive? Just broke the CD out of its shrink wrap, so I don't think it would be damaged.

Last edited by wiz329; 12-30-2011 at 07:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-30-2011, 08:23 PM
phaZed's Avatar
phaZed phaZed is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,533
phaZed has a spectacular aura aboutphaZed has a spectacular aura about
Default

Some thing to try would be to change IDE/AHCI mode in BIOS and see if that helps.

How did that memory check come out?

It certainly is easy enough to swap out the DVD drive and see if that changes the situation as well.

Swap out the SATA/IDE cable; longshot.

Worst case scenario would be to install the OS on a different machine and transplant the drive back to the goofy machine.
__________________

Aaron Heidlebaugh
Computer Technician / Owner
www.AaronsPCSupport.com
804-307-4465 (Call or Text)
Laptop LCD repair | DC Power Jack Repair | Virus Removal
Desktop Repair | Hardware | Software | Troubleshooting

Last edited by phaZed; 12-30-2011 at 08:24 PM. Reason: added idea.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-03-2012, 02:45 PM
xxsilk109xx's Avatar
xxsilk109xx xxsilk109xx is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 1,220
xxsilk109xx is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Do you have another install media that you can try? I use a universal windows xp cd that has all flavors, and just activate with key on customers computer.
__________________
Keep Calm and Chive On!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-03-2012, 06:48 PM
Mr.Mike Mr.Mike is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: California Central Coast
Posts: 1,130
Mr.Mike is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phaZed View Post
Worst case scenario would be to install the OS on a different machine and transplant the drive back to the goofy machine.
So that would set the mode to what ever the native setting (IDE or AHCI) were originally there? Interesting.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-03-2012, 08:40 PM
phaZed's Avatar
phaZed phaZed is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,533
phaZed has a spectacular aura aboutphaZed has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScarletPathos View Post
So that would set the mode to what ever the native setting (IDE or AHCI) were originally there? Interesting.
No, it wouldn't change the IDE/AHCI setting, rather it would install Windows using either IDE or AHCI depending on what your "install" computer is set on like usual. I offered this suggestion because you could at least get windows installed fully onto the drive and put it into the system that doesn't seem to want to install correctly.
What happens is that Windows disables the IDE or AHCI driver respectively depending on what it is installed on. You simply need to enable the driver via the registry.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/922976 <--MSFixIt here and manual edit info.

You will need to be able to boot Windows to change the registry key, you can use D7 (which is awesome! Props to FoolishIT) under the "Tweaks" section, and I suppose you could do an offline registry edit although I have never done it offline before for AHCI/IDE driver issue.
__________________

Aaron Heidlebaugh
Computer Technician / Owner
www.AaronsPCSupport.com
804-307-4465 (Call or Text)
Laptop LCD repair | DC Power Jack Repair | Virus Removal
Desktop Repair | Hardware | Software | Troubleshooting
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.