Go Back   Technibble Forums > Service Solutions > Remote Support

Technibble Sponsor

Old 12-29-2011, 03:52 PM

pc-rebuilders can only hope to improve
Question Limitations for Teamviewer FREE ver.

I've been looking at remote software and everybody seems to be continuously talking about Teamviewer. Just curious if anyone knows the answer, they have a free version - are there any limitations? They say it's for personal use only, noncommercial. I'm just starting out in remote support and don't have the money to spend $250- $700. I'm looking for a alternative for the time being, any suggestions I would be appreciated, thanks...
Old 12-29-2011, 03:53 PM
Banned

Xander is just really niceXander is just really niceXander is just really niceXander is just really niceXander is just really nice

The Free version can not be used for commercial purposes (e.g. computer repair people).
Old 12-29-2011, 04:11 PM

OldSchoolPC is on the way

The only free remote-support option that is remotely (hehehe) viable is LogMeIn Free. At least, as far as legally using it for business purposes. There are MANY other options really, but I've tried a dozen others and they suck, or aren't user friendly on the client's end.
Old 12-29-2011, 04:21 PM

iisjman07 has a spectacular aura aboutiisjman07 has a spectacular aura about

You won't be able to legally use TeamViewer Free for commerical purposes, unfortunately. At the end of a free session it will show a message on both user's screens to say something like 'This free session what sponsored by TeamViewer, thanks for not using it commercially'. There are ways to get around this message, but it's not a good idea.

You can however, use LogMeIn Free for commercial purposes, which is what we use. Give the choice I would like to use TeamViewer, but I'm not going to argue with LogMeIn when it's free.
Old 12-29-2011, 05:08 PM

JAbbott is an unknown quantity at this point