Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Tech-to-Tech Computer Help

Technibble Sponsor

Old 11-01-2011, 09:01 AM

Petetech888 can only hope to improve
Default Trying to boot from XP HDD using a RAID controller.

Hi, as mentioned above I am trying to boot from XP IDE HDD with the jumper set to cable select using a RAID controller as the first boot device.
I have little or no experience with using a RAID controller.

MB Gigabyte GA-G41MT-S2P MATX VGA LGA775 DDR3
CPU Intel Pentium Dual Core E6600 3.06GHz 2MB LGA775
RAM Adata 2GB DDR3 1333 DIMM
PSU Hyena 350W ATX
HDD 160GB 8MB 7200RPM 3.5" IDE HDD
Controller CMD Technology Silicon Image SiI 0680 Ultra-133 Medley ATA RAID Controller

First, is it possible to boot a system using a RAID Controller to boot from?
Old 11-01-2011, 01:20 PM

NETWizz has a spectacular aura aboutNETWizz has a spectacular aura about

Look in the manual for your Motherboard, it should tell you how to setup RAID.

Obviously, you will need 2 or More Hard Disks RAIDed together. For the purpose of detection of drives, Cable Select should be fine - HP and Dell used to use it all the time.

Here is the key... Drives toward the far end of the cable are Primary Master. You should be using the 80 wire cable (not the 40 wire cable) for any Hard Disk ATA66 or greater (i.e. ATA100 and ATA133).

For maximum speed, you should have each disk on a separate IDE cable and by convention they should both be at the far ends.

Proposal:
Primary Master: Hard Drive (Cable Select)
Secondary Master: Hard Drive (Cable Select)
Secondary Slave: Optical Drive (Cable Select)

Both cables the 80 wire type.

Typically, you would then go into your BIOS and turn on the RAID controller and somehow specify the Primary Master and Secondary Master to be be handled by the RAID controller.

Now, when you boot, you will get some type of option ROM for Silicon Image SiI 0680 RAID. [Press whatever key it says]