Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Tech-to-Tech Computer Help

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-06-2011, 04:29 PM
anth anth is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 211
anth is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Vista Home Prem 32 bit Local access only

Any body had this problem with Vista, this a clean install of Vista.

Came in because of a virus infection, pretty bad infection so I decided to do a fresh install, customer said that she could not connect to the internet and lost all of access to programs and files, it was a very bad infection, I only nuke and pave when it is beneficial to the customer this was one of them.

Things of have done.
1. Clean install
2. disabled Ipv6
3. There is a Microsoft fix for this issue but it did not work.
4. Disabled an re-enabled the adapter. Also renew refresh command
5. Uninstalled reinstalled drivers.
6. Read hours for hours on forums until my eyes began to cross.
7. Registry edit to completely disable IPV6

After three days of trying to tackle this issue I finally decided to post her.
anybody have suggestions?

Just a note yes it did not have any internet access when it came in, just local access.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-06-2011, 05:12 PM
dgiles79's Avatar
dgiles79 dgiles79 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Newport News, VA
Posts: 492
dgiles79 is on a distinguished road
Default

I had a similar problem, and I don't know if I would call it a solution, but this is what I did and the problem hasn't come back.

I totally deleted any saved wireless connection profiles, then added all the Vista service packs offline, created the wireless connection again. The connection worked, and I downloaded any additional patches through auto updates, and everything worked going forward.

Hope that helps.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-06-2011, 05:35 PM
anth anth is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 211
anth is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Thanks, in the back if my brain I was thinking about doing that, you just reaffirmed that I should try it.

Thanks for the suggestion I will try and report back!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-06-2011, 07:33 PM
Slaters Kustum Machines's Avatar
Slaters Kustum Machines Slaters Kustum Machines is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,160
Slaters Kustum Machines is on a distinguished road
Default

Is this a laptop or deskop? Wired or wireless?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-06-2011, 10:01 PM
digisafe digisafe is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 13
digisafe is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Vista Unidetified network issue

I have exactly the same issue. I have tried what was mention earlier, but is still refuses to connect to the internet. anyone have any other suggestions
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-06-2011, 10:47 PM
digisafe digisafe is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 13
digisafe is an unknown quantity at this point
Default One solution found

I just attached and isnatlled the software for a wireless dongle and now it connects. I am wondering if the driver for the wireless card in the laptop is correct so I'm going to remove the driver for the wireless internal card and try another one.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-07-2011, 02:02 AM
anth anth is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 211
anth is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

It's a Dell laptop got the drivers off their website, so I know the drivers are correct.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-07-2011, 02:15 AM
1010Computers's Avatar
1010Computers 1010Computers is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: GA
Posts: 23
1010Computers is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Here is what I would do:

1.) Verify that the drivers are correct (model, OS, version, etc.)
-Also verify that all of the network settings are correct

2.) Make sure they installed correctly by the device manger

3.) Verify that the network card is not a aftermarket someone else put in that requires different drivers than the original on the manufacturers website

4.) Search the internet for file re-association repairs and see if that helps

5.) If the computer has been wiped and no data is on it. Try again from square 1 and carefully re-trace your steps.


Hope that helps.
__________________
1010Computers
[WIKI]www.1010Computers.com[/WIKI] (Website)
[WIKI]www.facebook.com/JPServicesOnline[/WIKI] (Facebook Page)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-07-2011, 12:59 PM
Protechniq Protechniq is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 18
Protechniq is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

You might want to try this (if you haven't already)

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/928233
__________________
Martin Bass
Chief Technician.
Protechniq Inc. http://protechniq.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-07-2011, 01:05 PM
TLE's Avatar
TLE TLE is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,239
TLE is on a distinguished road
Default

What does 'IPconfig output?

Run the following from an elevated command prompt and post the results from the text file.

Code:
ipconfig /all > C:\ipconfig.txt
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.