Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Tech-to-Tech Computer Help

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-01-2011, 11:14 AM
pcspek pcspek is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Devon
Posts: 11
pcspek is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Help with Server advice

Hi I'm a newbie here and this is my first post, so I'd like to apologise if this has been asked before. I'm a 1 man band repair setup that deals mainly with individuals & very small businesses. The problem or dilemma really is that a small local company has got in contact with me to ask whether they need to spend 15000 on a Dell server or not. What I can gather is that they have an 2 small offices with 2 pc's in one office & 4 in another. They have an old server that's had no support for the last 6 years, which they think is far to much for what they need. All I've been told is that they basically keep their Sage on it & also documents etc that everyone who works there needs access to. They have been advised that they need this server upgrade by their accountants who happen to supply server & remote support as well. They are worried that they are being given the wrong advice so they have asked me to take a look & give them a 2nd opinion. I'm yet to go & take a look but to me it seems far too much. Maybe a NAS or online storage might be better ? I would be grateful for any advice given as this might be a far bigger job than I'm use to.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-01-2011, 02:13 PM
@ncient geek @ncient geek is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: US & Europe, as I like
Posts: 114
@ncient geek is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Sounds like the usual overkill to me. From what you say, I'd look at the DELL PowerEdge line or HP ML 350 through 380's.
$5000 will buy you a nice double processor server with 12gigs of ram which should be more than sufficient for such a business, RAID 5 and 2008 R2 included.
__________________
Dixit Mr Murphy : No matter how many resources you have, it is never enough

Last edited by @ncient geek; 08-01-2011 at 02:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-01-2011, 04:58 PM
Trenatos's Avatar
Trenatos Trenatos is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Plattsmouth, NE
Posts: 177
Trenatos is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Definitely sounds overkill.
With the little they stated you can use a way cheaper server (1000+) and still get them what they need, throw in some kind of backup solution too, wouldn't cost much for the client.
__________________
www.MarcusFernstrom.com
IT Consultant, freelance programmer & webdesigner.
If at first you don't succeed, hand it to me and I'll take care of it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-01-2011, 07:41 PM
oldtech oldtech is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 374
oldtech will become famous soon enough
Default

Really hard to answer this without knowing what brand/model server and workstations as well as the OS installed. Also is the 15K just for the server? Seem a bit high but without much data go on any answer you get here is a guess at best and therefore useless.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-01-2011, 08:49 PM
pcspek pcspek is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Devon
Posts: 11
pcspek is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Thanx for getting back to me. The 15K is just for the server with no support ! Another thought I've had is what's wrong with the server they've got now ? It seems to be working but without cover. I don't know how old it is though. What sort of server could I get for about 1000 & would it be suffice ?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.