Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Tech-to-Tech Computer Help

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-16-2011, 10:37 PM
jlg6184 jlg6184 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 29
jlg6184 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Compaq Presario F700, DVDRom Problem

Hello, I have a Laptop I am working on for my brother, who is in the Navy. When I received it, that hard drive was corrupt, and he had nothing he wanted saved, so I just went ahead and wiped it and reformated. I reinstalled Windows Vista without much of a problem. I just finished all of the available updates, and am troubleshooting other issues (I believe he has a bad stick of RAM).

Anyway, I went to install a bit of software, and couldn't get the DVDRom recognize anything. It has power, and spins the disc, but is unrecognized in the OS. I checked Device Manager, and nothing was there either. I rebooted, and checked the BIOS. The BIOS has no place where it recognizes individual drives, just the ATAPI CDROM in the boot order. So out of curiosity, I tried to throw a Live Linux disk in and set the bios to boot to CDRom first, it didn't boot to the disk, but went into Windows instead. I tried again, and selected the option to choose which device to boot to, and the DVDRom isn't listed. I know that it worked, because I was able to install Windows. I also tried another DVDRom out of another, working Compaq, and had the same results. I have been going at this for a little while now, and am taking a break, and figured I would pose the question here, to see if there is something I may be overlooking.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-16-2011, 11:24 PM
SmithFamilyDesigns's Avatar
SmithFamilyDesigns SmithFamilyDesigns is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 289
SmithFamilyDesigns is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Push the drive in harder. Had that issue on several makes/models. If that resolves the issue, remove the drive and adjust the retaining bracket
__________________
"Never argue with a fool; onlookers may not be able to tell the difference."

http://www.SmithFamilyDesigns.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-16-2011, 11:38 PM
jlg6184 jlg6184 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 29
jlg6184 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SmithFamilyDesigns View Post
Push the drive in harder. Had that issue on several makes/models. If that resolves the issue, remove the drive and adjust the retaining bracket
I have tried pushing it in harder as well, and to no avail. It is making enough of a connection to power the drive, and spin it, it just is not recognizing. I will try pushing it in a bit harder though to see if I can get it to work.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-17-2011, 12:24 AM
stevenamills stevenamills is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 856
stevenamills is on a distinguished road
Default

You might try yanking the drive and using a USB version. Periodically, that works for me.
__________________
Steve

Fox Valley Computer Services
The more I learn about people, the more I like my dog. –Mark Twain
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-17-2011, 01:24 AM
jlg6184 jlg6184 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 29
jlg6184 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevenamills View Post
You might try yanking the drive and using a USB version. Periodically, that works for me.
Yeah, I thought of that as well, but I don't have one at the moment, and my brother is not very likely to buy one. I can install anything and finish up my tests without a functional CD-Rom, but I would prefer to know what is causing the problem as opposed to just ignoring it and shipping it to him (he is in California, whereas I am in IL). He likely won't be all that happy if it gets there and goes out in a few days because the problem I thought was CDRom related ended up being something else entirely. While he isn't paying me anything, he is my brother, and I would prefer this thing not to crap out if it is something I can prevent.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-17-2011, 01:49 AM
SmithFamilyDesigns's Avatar
SmithFamilyDesigns SmithFamilyDesigns is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 289
SmithFamilyDesigns is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Another thought: is this the nvidia chipset? The faulty chipset symptoms did include dvd/wifi/sound issues as well. May want to see if its an affected model.
__________________
"Never argue with a fool; onlookers may not be able to tell the difference."

http://www.SmithFamilyDesigns.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-17-2011, 02:50 AM
jlg6184 jlg6184 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 29
jlg6184 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SmithFamilyDesigns View Post
Another thought: is this the nvidia chipset? The faulty chipset symptoms did include dvd/wifi/sound issues as well. May want to see if its an affected model.
Yes, this is an nVidia chipset, 7000M /nforce 610M I belive.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.