Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Tech-to-Tech Computer Help

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-20-2008, 05:15 PM
yelmua yelmua is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
yelmua is an unknown quantity at this point
Default How To Set Up Network Access Without Internet

Hi everyone - I'm setting up a PC that I will use only for Audio/Video production. As such, i don't want to connect it to the Internet because firewalls, anti-virus, etc. will slow the system down. However, I do want to be able to connect to my home network for backup, file-sharing, etc.

How can I configure my PC to connect only to the network but not access the Internet? In this case, I'll be using an internal 802.11g card to access my d-link router.

Thanks in advance for any insight/advice you can offer!

Brian
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-20-2008, 08:26 PM
acs acs is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ynys Mon
Posts: 230
acs is on the way
Default

Assuming that all your PCs are connected via a router and are on the same subnet. You could give your video PC a manual IP address in the same subnet but outside the DHCP scope then set the default gateway to 192.0.0.0. This way your pc should see others on the network but not be able to get out to the network via the router's default gateway ip. Another way would be to deny access from the Video PC to the internet on the router.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-20-2008, 09:42 PM
Jory Jory is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 940
Jory is on a distinguished road
Default

If you're connecting through a router and you're the only person using the computer you don't have anything to worry about. The router is already blocking all incoming packets unless it was requested from inside the network, or you have some ports forwarded.

Make sure and keep it updated though. It would still be vulnerable to other computers on your network that are already infected.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-21-2008, 11:38 AM
TimeCode's Avatar
TimeCode TimeCode is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pomona, CA
Posts: 1,260
TimeCode is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by acs View Post
You could give your video PC a manual IP address in the same subnet but outside the DHCP scope then set the default gateway to 192.0.0.0.
If you strictly want to keep it off the internet but allow it onto your internal network, this is the the way I'd to it too.
__________________
Tim
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-22-2008, 01:53 AM
tkrabec's Avatar
tkrabec tkrabec is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Indiantown
Posts: 307
tkrabec is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to tkrabec Send a message via AIM to tkrabec Send a message via MSN to tkrabec Send a message via Yahoo to tkrabec Send a message via Skype™ to tkrabec
Default

Set the machine up with a firewall, AV & such. Also use a Hard wired network connection, or a usb Wireless adapter. Then when ever the machine is on the network use them, when you are doing video work disable the FW, AV, etc. and disable it when you disconnect the network to work on the video.

I do video work and I have not seen a major difference with my AV enabled vs disabled, but I'm using blink on that machine.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-22-2008, 06:26 AM
yelmua yelmua is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
yelmua is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Thanks everyone for your help - all makes sense!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.