Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Tech-to-Tech Computer Help

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-24-2011, 04:21 PM
joydivision's Avatar
joydivision joydivision is online now
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 3,375
joydivision will become famous soon enough
Default Unusual track pad problem

Got an old Acer which has hardly been used, is FAT32 and is very slow (HD is ok). However when it boots up the track pad is very slow to respond but is faster in safe mode, I have tried Kaspersky rescue CD and the trackpad doesn't work at all in that.

It does work ok in safe mode though. I try a Ubuntu boot CD before writing it off, but does this not seem a bit strange?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-24-2011, 04:29 PM
mraikes's Avatar
mraikes mraikes is online now
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 1,835
mraikes is a jewel in the roughmraikes is a jewel in the roughmraikes is a jewel in the roughmraikes is a jewel in the rough
Default

It works OK in safe mode? Then I'd suspect there's something eating up the CPU cycles or RAM in normal mode and is interfering with the pad.
__________________
----------------------------
Darn-Computer! Computer & Laptop Repair

"You can't buy happiness, but you can buy a ukulele. And that's pretty close." Thomas Jefferson
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-24-2011, 05:21 PM
joydivision's Avatar
joydivision joydivision is online now
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 3,375
joydivision will become famous soon enough
Default

Will try it Ubuntu, wouldn't say the trackpad is exactly smooth in safe mode, but its much smoother than it is in normal mode.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-24-2011, 05:52 PM
joydivision's Avatar
joydivision joydivision is online now
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 3,375
joydivision will become famous soon enough
Default

Works fine with Ubuntu, so I am just going to N&P it, I suspect it has some sort of rootkit on it at the moment. Client just wants the job done as cheaply as possible, so in this case N&P makes sense given how slow it is. It is FAT32 too which doesn't help.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-24-2011, 06:02 PM
KompuKare's Avatar
KompuKare KompuKare is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 464
KompuKare is on a distinguished road
Default

Don't forget that it might be the infamous Microsoft APM fault where when the battery is poor, it spends lots of cycles waiting for a response (Microsoft have allegedly fixed it a few times...).

With process explorer see if hardware interrupts go high - if yes try disabling APM in dev manager
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-24-2011, 06:13 PM
joydivision's Avatar
joydivision joydivision is online now
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 3,375
joydivision will become famous soon enough
Default

At the moment it is so slow I can't even get to process explorer, but I shall try disabling the services via safe mode. Thanks The battery is dead,.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-24-2011, 10:34 PM
Fixedathome.com Fixedathome.com is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nottingham, England
Posts: 457
Fixedathome.com is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Out of interest does a mouse suffer the same problems if you connect one?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-25-2011, 12:45 AM
joydivision's Avatar
joydivision joydivision is online now
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 3,375
joydivision will become famous soon enough
Default

No the mouse works perfectly fine, even in XP normal mode, which is why I have got confused. XP normal mode crashes though as soon as it loads explorer, but the RAM and HD test fine. Which is why I am suspecting a faulty file system or rootkit.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-25-2011, 11:23 AM
joydivision's Avatar
joydivision joydivision is online now
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 3,375
joydivision will become famous soon enough
Default

An update, you were right about the battery. I removed it and it works perfectly fine.

First time I've seen this problem
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-25-2011, 12:45 PM
KompuKare's Avatar
KompuKare KompuKare is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 464
KompuKare is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joydivision View Post
An update, you were right about the battery. I removed it and it works perfectly fine.

First time I've seen this problem
I've only seen it the once myself but it was such a weird diagnose that I keep jumping to that conclusion first now...

I know that disabling the APM device works, but don't recall if switching to ACPI works (I think the laptop where I came across it might not have had any such option in the BIOS). As I mentioned before, Microsoft have 'fixed' this problem a few times for XP and they have some KBs about it somewhere on their site. Mind you, AFAIR it was an Acer in my case too so maybe it's a combination of poorly programmed interrupt plus a bad implementation at the hardware level
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.