Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Tech-to-Tech Computer Help

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-04-2011, 04:22 AM
IAMPC IAMPC is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Plano, Texas
Posts: 811
IAMPC is on a distinguished road
Default Hitman Pro Crashing While Scanning???

Has anyone seen Hitman Pro crash in middle of scan? I came across it couple of times now in last few days and it seems a bit weird. It just quits and crashes.

Last edited by IAMPC; 06-04-2011 at 04:22 AM. Reason: Spelling
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-04-2011, 04:14 PM
wimwauters's Avatar
wimwauters wimwauters is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Rushden, Northants, UK
Posts: 746
wimwauters is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IAMPC View Post
Has anyone seen Hitman Pro crash in middle of scan? I came across it couple of times now in last few days and it seems a bit weird. It just quits and crashes.
Could be a Hitman Pro bug or due to a recent OS update, or it could be a newish & buggy piece of malware targeting Hitman Pro. I suspect Hitman Pro is gaining in popularity, so the virus mafia will be turning their attention to it

Luckily, the hitman pro 'modules' make it a bit of a chameleon, but I guess the core program will at some point need to enter an arms race with the virus mafia.

Over time the virus writers could (with an infected PC) be controlling Hitman Pro just as good as they can control MalwareBytes or AVG (i.e. it thinks everything is OK, but can't actually update itself ,etc...).

Last edited by wimwauters; 06-04-2011 at 04:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-04-2011, 04:41 PM
vdub12's Avatar
vdub12 vdub12 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,509
vdub12 is on a distinguished road
Default

I have personally never had a problem with it. Could be an infection interfering with it. I normally don't run any scanners until I have finished manual removals first.

One of the only reasons I use hitman is because its so quick and accurate. It helps me double check my work. I don't use it as a means for removal though, just verification.
__________________
CyberCPU Computer Repair
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-04-2011, 04:45 PM
SmithFamilyDesigns's Avatar
SmithFamilyDesigns SmithFamilyDesigns is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 289
SmithFamilyDesigns is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I have had it crash on a 64 bit machine with a very sneaky mbr infection. That was the only time I've had any issues though
__________________
"Never argue with a fool; onlookers may not be able to tell the difference."

http://www.SmithFamilyDesigns.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.