Go Back   Technibble Forums > The Computer Repair Business > Business and Legal Issues

Technibble Sponsor

Old 06-09-2008, 03:16 PM

jschramm97 is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Real opportunity or Scam?

I've been doing PC repairs (large corporations) for 13 years, and decided over the weekend to go ahead and turn it into an "official" side job. So i posted a few advertisements online for my services, and received this email this morning:
===
Hello,
My name is ### #### ,i hail from UK and right now i work in ireland I
read description and am instrested in your services,I will be importing some
computer into the states.The PC are laptops pentium 4 sony vio computer..I
want to reformat them for the new year and want you to Install software,
clean inner & outer computer components, update software to current status
Get back to me with you total cost for the services of 10 computers . I will
like You to know that my mode of payment is by check or money order.
I await your urgent response so that i can put the arrangement in order.
Thanks
===
Something seems fishy about it, i reside in a small town about 35 miles west of St. Louis Missouri. I cannot figure out why this person wants to send me 10computers, i would be happy to do the work but i'm concerned that it's some sort of scam, If it's not how would you approch this, and what type of things should i keep an eye out for?

Thank You!
-Jim
Old 06-09-2008, 03:20 PM

thecoldone06 is on a distinguished road

Hey Jim welcome to TechNibble. It does seem a little fishy but i think it would be worth checking out. If further conversations make it seem even more unlikely I would scrap it but it looks like something worth pursuing. Where in MO are you? I live in St. Charles.
Old 06-09-2008, 03:31 PM

14049752 has a spectacular aura about14049752 has a spectacular aura about

That's a scam. Don't bother. I get about five or six of those e-mails a week, almost the exact same wording.
Old 06-09-2008, 03:40 PM