Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Tech-to-Tech Computer Help

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-23-2011, 06:44 PM
xxsilk109xx's Avatar
xxsilk109xx xxsilk109xx is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 1,220
xxsilk109xx is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Fan causing PC to not boot?

I had a customer last week bring me a dell dimension 4700. It would turn on but the cpu fan, which is attached to the back of the case would just spin real fast and real loud and there would be nothing on the screen.

I unplugged the fan, started the computer, booted great, except for the error about the CPU fan not being attached, i then plugged the fan in and it ran normal. It had lots of windows errors and virus problems, old accts etc. So he wanted me to wipe it clean. I did with no issues. Tested the ram and HD before I did it as normal. Got it up and running great with no issues.

He takes it home and it has been working great, so he says. He calls me today and told me that this morning he went to turn it on and the fan was doing the exact same thing.

I figured that it was just a loose connection the first time, but now I am starting to wonder why it happened again.

anyone experience this before and care to offer any advice?
__________________
Keep Calm and Chive On!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-23-2011, 06:48 PM
14049752 14049752 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,275
14049752 has a spectacular aura about14049752 has a spectacular aura about
Default

It's very unlikely that it's the fan. More likely early signs of mobo failure somewhere. I think the 4700 was one of the ones with all the bad capacitors.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-23-2011, 07:14 PM
xxsilk109xx's Avatar
xxsilk109xx xxsilk109xx is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 1,220
xxsilk109xx is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I checked the caps and there were no busted or raised ones... i hope its not the mobo failing..
__________________
Keep Calm and Chive On!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-23-2011, 07:26 PM
Martyn's Avatar
Martyn Martyn is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bedfordshire UK
Posts: 5,506
Martyn has a spectacular aura aboutMartyn has a spectacular aura about
Default

If the fan is running too fast maybe there is a problem with it and it is drawing too much current. So after it boots you can reconnect the fan and it runs at the right speed? or not? Test the voltage being supplied against what it should be.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-23-2011, 07:55 PM
xxsilk109xx's Avatar
xxsilk109xx xxsilk109xx is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 1,220
xxsilk109xx is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

yes after i unconnect it and boot it, i then plug the fan in and its run normally, speeds up when getting hot, speeds down when cooling down..
__________________
Keep Calm and Chive On!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-23-2011, 08:10 PM
Martyn's Avatar
Martyn Martyn is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bedfordshire UK
Posts: 5,506
Martyn has a spectacular aura aboutMartyn has a spectacular aura about
Default

Well it sounds like its overloading or the psu has a problem. Have you tried another psu or another fan?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-23-2011, 08:15 PM
xxsilk109xx's Avatar
xxsilk109xx xxsilk109xx is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 1,220
xxsilk109xx is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

i didnt try another fan or power supply, i will try that next. However, the fan i will have to order because of the connection on the motherboard is not the standard type, its proprietary dell.
i put it on the PSU tester and it seemed fine, of course that was not under load.
__________________
Keep Calm and Chive On!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-23-2011, 08:17 PM
AdamsAPlus's Avatar
AdamsAPlus AdamsAPlus is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Portland TN
Posts: 520
AdamsAPlus is on a distinguished road
Default

I would change out the fan first. To me it doesn't make since that a fan would be pulling too much power but from what ever thing else you have said I feel it has to be the fan. I would swap it out with a known good one.

Does he have any fan controllers? If so check the settings. Or if he has a temp gage make sure the probe is in the correct place.

You said
Quote:
the cpu fan, which is attached to the back of the case
I'm a little confused by this statement. Is it the CPU fan or the Case Fan. I know some of those dells have a cpu fan with a green plastic thing attaching the air flow it to the back of the case. Is that what your talking about?
__________________
Adams A Plus Computer Repair and More

Adams A Plus Blog

CompTIA A+, CompTIA Net+, MCP, MCDST, MCTS: Windows Vista, MSITP: Enterprise Support
DCSE
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-23-2011, 08:19 PM
Martyn's Avatar
Martyn Martyn is online now
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bedfordshire UK
Posts: 5,506
Martyn has a spectacular aura aboutMartyn has a spectacular aura about
Default

It's best to have a couple of power supplies around for testing. As you know the tester doesn't tell you if the psu is causing problems only that the voltages aren't there that's why you need a spare or two.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-23-2011, 08:32 PM
xxsilk109xx's Avatar
xxsilk109xx xxsilk109xx is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 1,220
xxsilk109xx is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

yes im talking about the fan that has the green shroud in place...
__________________
Keep Calm and Chive On!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.