Go Back   Technibble Forums > Service Solutions > Servers

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-14-2011, 03:13 PM
allanc allanc is online now
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,329
allanc is on a distinguished road
Default Hard Drive Errors on Raid-5

One of my clients has a Dell PowerEdge 1800 (Windows Server 2003) with 3 hard drives on RAID-5.

One of the drives is failing the Dell 'confidence' diagnostics within a couple of minutes.
However the RAID-5 still displays 'good' as its status and has not degraded its status or taken this drive offline.

I know that when a drive's status has been downgraded, you swap the drive and then choose 'rebuild' from the RAID menu.
My question is what are the specific steps if I want to replace the drive proactively (before it fails)?

Thank you in advance.
__________________
Allan Coganovitch
Proven Solutions Inc. - Toronto, Canada

Onsite and remote computer support Toronto
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-14-2011, 03:43 PM
Ccomp5950's Avatar
Ccomp5950 Ccomp5950 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Marshall, Texas
Posts: 889
Ccomp5950 will become famous soon enough
Default

Just swap the drive out with a new one and tell it to rebuilt itself.

it will take a couple of hours depending on size.
__________________
Marshall Texas Computer repair
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-15-2011, 04:35 PM
allanc allanc is online now
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,329
allanc is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ccomp5950 View Post
Just swap the drive out with a new one and tell it to rebuilt itself.

it will take a couple of hours depending on size.
I will be swapping the drive tomorrow.
Thank you for the info.
__________________
Allan Coganovitch
Proven Solutions Inc. - Toronto, Canada

Onsite and remote computer support Toronto
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-15-2011, 10:48 PM
jeremyc jeremyc is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7
jeremyc is an unknown quantity at this point
Default better swap it soon

we lose exchange db's when that happens...
you dont want to spend all weekend running eseutil!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-15-2011, 11:04 PM
allanc allanc is online now
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,329
allanc is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremyc View Post
we lose exchange db's when that happens...
you dont want to spend all weekend running eseutil!
Are you referring to the swap drive process itself or the 'confidence' test of the diags failing?
__________________
Allan Coganovitch
Proven Solutions Inc. - Toronto, Canada

Onsite and remote computer support Toronto
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-29-2011, 12:15 AM
MobileGeeks's Avatar
MobileGeeks MobileGeeks is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 116
MobileGeeks is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Swap it out dude, I would do all three drives since SATA drives are cheap.

This of course will be done over three visits onsite.


Thanks.


Mobilegeeks

Computer Repairs
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-29-2011, 12:58 AM
NETWizz NETWizz is online now
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,397
NETWizz has a spectacular aura aboutNETWizz has a spectacular aura about
Default

Make sure to failover/spin down if there is an option for that in the Dell Open Manage Server administrator.

If there is, the array should then show up as degraded. As soon as the disk is replaced, it should just rebuild.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-18-2011, 05:38 PM
Blues's Avatar
Blues Blues is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tennessee, US
Posts: 1,681
Blues is on a distinguished road
Default

Swap the drive like the rest suggest I don't know much about the PowerEdge 1800 what kind of RAID controller card it runs or drives it uses but my experience with RAID% drive swaps is they are hot swappable and the rebuild is automatic.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-20-2011, 06:57 AM
Tony_Scarpelli's Avatar
Tony_Scarpelli Tony_Scarpelli is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Wichita, Kansas U.S.A.
Posts: 2,134
Tony_Scarpelli has a spectacular aura aboutTony_Scarpelli has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MobileGeeks View Post
Swap it out dude, I would do all three drives since SATA drives are cheap.

This of course will be done over three visits onsite.


Thanks.


Mobilegeeks

Computer Repairs

Mobilegeeks,

Have you ever heard of the term infant mortality as it relates to engineering or new equipment?

Google it.

http://www.cvarc.org/tech/burnin.html
http://www.lifetime-reliability.com/...ility-101.html

If there is no reason to suspect the other drives, keep them. Or maybe put a hot spare in, but I wouldn't put new drives in an old server without burning them in some how.

Last edited by Tony_Scarpelli; 06-20-2011 at 07:01 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.