Go Back   Technibble Forums > Operating Systems > Apple Macintosh

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-09-2011, 10:36 PM
quinnlaup quinnlaup is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: N. Ireland
Posts: 114
quinnlaup is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Will the latest version of Mac OS run on old iBook

Hey Guys

I am a relative noob to Mac OS i can find my about etc but dont know a whole lot about the operating system but i was wondering if the latest version of OSX can be installed on older iBooks. I am thinking of buying one for burning mac testing software such as tech tools etc and to familiarise myself more fully with the os. The iBook in question i believe has a 500mhz processor with 640mb of ram i think the os is 10.3.???? Also would i be right in assuming that the HDD can be upgraded from 10gb (i think).

kind regards

quinnlaup

P.s. I have had 2 of these in recently which when they heat up tend to stink really bad almost like body odour!!!! is this normal???
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-10-2011, 12:14 AM
BigMac BigMac is online now
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 64
BigMac is on a distinguished road
Default

The latest version of OSX (10.6, Snow Leopard) will not run on a PowerPC. All previous versions will.

As for the stink, ran across one of these a few years ago. More info can be found scattered around the web on why they stink such as http://lowendmac.com/menagh/06/1013.html
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-10-2011, 01:54 PM
anonymous Mac Tech's Avatar
anonymous Mac Tech anonymous Mac Tech is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,511
anonymous Mac Tech has a spectacular aura aboutanonymous Mac Tech has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quinnlaup View Post
The iBook in question i believe has a 500mhz processor with 640mb of ram i think the os is 10.3.???? Also would i be right in assuming that the HDD can be upgraded from 10gb (i think).
It can run up to 10.4.11. The RAM looks like its maxed at 640MB. The HD can be as large as you want. Its ATA-6 compliant so its not limited to only seeing 128GB like the older G4 towers.
__________________
[FONT=Arial]ACMT[/FONT]
Quote:
People fear what they don't understand and hate what they can't conquer. Andrew Smith
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-10-2011, 11:21 PM
quinnlaup quinnlaup is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: N. Ireland
Posts: 114
quinnlaup is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Thanks for your help guys definitely think i will get this one looks like it will suit my needs.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sys requ q = google broke

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.