Go Back   Technibble Forums > Technical Discussions > Networking

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-13-2011, 07:15 PM
allanc allanc is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,329
allanc is on a distinguished road
Default SMC SMCD3GN Modem/Gateway - cannot obtain network address

I went onsite to a new client with a SMC SMCD3GN modem/gateway.
The problem is that her son cannot connect wirelessly from his bedroom on the second floor.

I ran WIRELESSKEYVIEW on the mother's computer (which connects) on the ground floor and obtained an encryption key of 'aaaaa' (for example).
I tried that key on both the son's computer and my netbook while in his bedroom without success.
I tried the same key on my netbook while next to the mother's computer without success.
At that point, I was thinking that it was a MAC filter issue.
However, the mother says that the son has many friends who drop in and can connect their wifi equipment and nobody modifies the router settings.
I ran wirelessnetview and all other nearby networks are also encrypted.

The mother's computer is running Windows 7 and I obtained the following from IpConfig which is not helping me understand the problem.
I was expecting a network in the range of 192.168.0.x


IP 99.253.197.153
Subnet Mask 255.255.254.0
Gateway 99.253.196.1

All assistance is appreciated.
__________________
Allan Coganovitch
Proven Solutions Inc. - Toronto, Canada

Onsite and remote computer support Toronto
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-13-2011, 07:32 PM
Martyn's Avatar
Martyn Martyn is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bedfordshire UK
Posts: 5,631
Martyn has a spectacular aura aboutMartyn has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by allanc View Post
I went onsite to a new client with a SMC SMCD3GN modem/gateway.
The problem is that her son cannot connect wirelessly from his bedroom on the second floor.

I ran WIRELESSKEYVIEW on the mother's computer (which connects) on the ground floor and obtained an encryption key of 'aaaaa' (for example).
I tried that key on both the son's computer and my netbook while in his bedroom without success.
I tried the same key on my netbook while next to the mother's computer without success.
At that point, I was thinking that it was a MAC filter issue.
However, the mother says that the son has many friends who drop in and can connect their wifi equipment and nobody modifies the router settings.
I ran wirelessnetview and all other nearby networks are also encrypted.

The mother's computer is running Windows 7 and I obtained the following from IpConfig which is not helping me understand the problem.
I was expecting a network in the range of 192.168.0.x


IP 99.253.197.153
Subnet Mask 255.255.254.0
Gateway 99.253.196.1

All assistance is appreciated.
Well that's not an internal class address as you know. On the machine that does connect do an ipconfig /all and check again the wireless details. The dhcp server should be the default gateway.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-13-2011, 07:37 PM
allanc allanc is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,329
allanc is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martyn View Post
Well that's not an internal class address as you know. On the machine that does connect do an ipconfig /all and check again the wireless details. The dhcp server should be the default gateway.
That is what I *thought* I did, but we all make mistakes.
But regardless of the public network (which may be a red herring)... I should be able to connect to the network, correct?
Basically, all one does is select the network and enter the encryption key.
__________________
Allan Coganovitch
Proven Solutions Inc. - Toronto, Canada

Onsite and remote computer support Toronto
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-13-2011, 07:39 PM
red12049 red12049 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,007
red12049 has a spectacular aura aboutred12049 has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by allanc View Post
I went onsite to a new client with a SMC SMCD3GN modem/gateway.
The problem is that her son cannot connect wirelessly from his bedroom on the second floor.

I ran WIRELESSKEYVIEW on the mother's computer (which connects) on the ground floor and obtained an encryption key of 'aaaaa' (for example).
I tried that key on both the son's computer and my netbook while in his bedroom without success.
I tried the same key on my netbook while next to the mother's computer without success.
At that point, I was thinking that it was a MAC filter issue.
However, the mother says that the son has many friends who drop in and can connect their wifi equipment and nobody modifies the router settings.
I ran wirelessnetview and all other nearby networks are also encrypted.

The mother's computer is running Windows 7 and I obtained the following from IpConfig which is not helping me understand the problem.
I was expecting a network in the range of 192.168.0.x


IP 99.253.197.153
Subnet Mask 255.255.254.0
Gateway 99.253.196.1

All assistance is appreciated.
Did you look in the gateway to see what was what? Can you verify that the mother is, in fact, connected to HER gateway, and not one of the neighbors?

Rick
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-13-2011, 07:42 PM
Martyn's Avatar
Martyn Martyn is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bedfordshire UK
Posts: 5,631
Martyn has a spectacular aura aboutMartyn has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by allanc View Post
That is what I *thought* I did, but we all make mistakes.
But regardless of the public network (which may be a red herring)... I should be able to connect to the network, correct?
Basically, all one does is select the network and enter the encryption key.
Oh yes for definite but I thought it may have been another router it was picking up. Try a fixed ip address to check if you can connect that way
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-13-2011, 07:49 PM
allanc allanc is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,329
allanc is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martyn View Post
Oh yes for definite but I thought it may have been another router it was picking up. Try a fixed ip address to check if you can connect that way
On the 192.168.0.1 net?
I just had a look at Roger's (ISP) web site and that modem/gateway is for their 'extreme' service.
Apparently, whether rented or sold by Rogers, the admin password is not available to the end user.
There is a 'customer password' that is limited in functionality.
And... it supports two wireless networks - one of which is public.
Is the public some sort of DMZ?

EDIT: is it possible that she is connected to the public net (as opposed to the internal)?
I think that there is a missing link that I am not getting
__________________
Allan Coganovitch
Proven Solutions Inc. - Toronto, Canada

Onsite and remote computer support Toronto
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-13-2011, 07:54 PM
Martyn's Avatar
Martyn Martyn is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bedfordshire UK
Posts: 5,631
Martyn has a spectacular aura aboutMartyn has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by allanc View Post
On the 192.168.0.1 net?
I just had a look at Roger's (ISP) web site and that modem/gateway is for their 'extreme' service.
Apparently, whether rented or sold by Rogers, the admin password is not available to the end user.
There is a 'customer password' that is limited in functionality.
And... it supports two wireless networks - one of which is public.
Is the public some sort of DMZ?

EDIT: is it possible that she is connected to the public net (as opposed to the internal)?
I think that there is a missing link that I am not getting
If it is an address that is on the net then there will be a limited number for use. Are you sure the address is via dhcp and not a fixed one? are there any others that are free, maybe they are all taken?

Edit

Yes the reverse lookup is registered to Rogers.com. I would check one of the others that connect and see what range they connect to, like you say it might be a red herring.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-13-2011, 11:33 PM
allanc allanc is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,329
allanc is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martyn View Post
If it is an address that is on the net then there will be a limited number for use. Are you sure the address is via dhcp and not a fixed one? are there any others that are free, maybe they are all taken?

Edit

Yes the reverse lookup is registered to Rogers.com. I would check one of the others that connect and see what range they connect to, like you say it might be a red herring.
I will have to wait until I either go on-site or connect remotely (if she will agree).
__________________
Allan Coganovitch
Proven Solutions Inc. - Toronto, Canada

Onsite and remote computer support Toronto
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-13-2011, 11:35 PM
jvcomputerservice jvcomputerservice is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 47
jvcomputerservice is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

do you know if the router suppports MAC cloning?

http://www.ofzenandcomputing.com/zanswers/605
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-13-2011, 11:40 PM
jvcomputerservice jvcomputerservice is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 47
jvcomputerservice is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

from another forum:

Do you know if this is a new router?

Quote:
A clever trick is to hook it up to your router first, power off your modem and back on again, and if you still can’t get an IP, call your ISP and just tell them you got a new computer. Don’t even mention you have a router.
They will then reset your modem to authorize with a new MAC (this time it will be your router) and bingo, it will work.
As soon as you mention router or anything, 99% of ISP’s will just be like “Woah, that’s the problem right there. We don’t support it, call them.”
hope this helps
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.