Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Guides, Tips and Tricks

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-26-2011, 11:41 PM
Jared Jared is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Huntingdon, Pennsylvania
Posts: 29
Jared is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Staple ethernet cable idea

Instead of buying coax staples which need to be hammered in, why not just put down a regular staple with a staple gun, then fasten your ethernet cable to it with a cable tie? Just saved me a few minutes while working for a customer, and I thought I would share.
__________________
Huntingdon PA Computer Repair
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-26-2011, 11:43 PM
mjbasford mjbasford is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Williamsburg, VA USA
Posts: 149
mjbasford is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

i use a staple gun and staple my wire directly with that. Just make sure the staples are long enough or they will damage the wire. Also, only works with one wire at a time if you are trying to to multiple.

Brand i use is: Arrow T25 9/16" (14mm)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-26-2011, 11:51 PM
iptech iptech is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: PC Biz
Posts: 2,069
iptech is on the way
Default

Why not just buy a regular cable staple gun that's specifically designed for the job?

I use one of THESE.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-27-2011, 12:16 AM
mjbasford mjbasford is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Williamsburg, VA USA
Posts: 149
mjbasford is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

that's similar to what i was referring to, but for convenience i can buy more staples at the local lowes
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-27-2011, 12:39 AM
ATS's Avatar
ATS ATS is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Aberdeen, WA
Posts: 131
ATS is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjbasford View Post
i use a staple gun and staple my wire directly with that. Just make sure the staples are long enough or they will damage the wire. Also, only works with one wire at a time if you are trying to to multiple.

Brand i use is: Arrow T25 9/16" (14mm)
That's the same thing I do, staple gun with long staples.

I like the idea of using cable ties on the staple, I'll keep that in mind if I'm running multiple cables.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-27-2011, 12:59 AM
dipper dipper is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 307
dipper is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Great idea. I would have thought that just using a staple may damage the cable. Using a cable tie though gets around this potential issue.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-27-2011, 01:07 AM
Jared Jared is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Huntingdon, Pennsylvania
Posts: 29
Jared is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Just thought I would share. I do have a staple gun that can do that, but I always end up putting staples through my cable :-(

Also, this works especially well for multiple cables.
__________________
Huntingdon PA Computer Repair
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-27-2011, 01:18 AM
TopLevelComp TopLevelComp is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 828
TopLevelComp is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to TopLevelComp Send a message via Skype™ to TopLevelComp
Default

Why not use these?
http://www.actfs.com/CatalogProducts.asp?nProductsID=95
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-27-2011, 04:18 AM
dbdawn dbdawn is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 925
dbdawn will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TopLevelComp View Post
I have used something similar before with strips of velcro or zip ties, works pretty good if you have to run more than one cable.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-27-2011, 01:29 PM
Titan-vds Titan-vds is online now
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 48
Titan-vds is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I agree with TopLevel. Easier when you run more cables.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.