Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Tech-to-Tech Computer Help

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-10-2011, 07:57 PM
lan101 lan101 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 821
lan101 is on a distinguished road
Default Imaging a drive for new computers

Hello guys,

I am in a little bind here with a company I am working for. They have 2 old computers I am replacing with 2 new ones. All are windows xp professional.

The old ones were custom made. The new ones are Hp DC7700's. I have ran into some problems with outlook express 2007 settings and etc. Several other small issues are coming up. I am tired of dealing with it to be honest, so I thought maybe if we just start from scratch and image the old drives to the new would possibly work.

I've never done imaging before in this fashion. Is it even possible? All the hardware is obviously different.




They have a small domain and a server with windows 2003 server. There are a few glitches there too. One thing is, they can't open date and time without "permission" I thought this might be because the computer names are different.

So my question is can we image, or is it just gonna be worse?

I have found a program that supposedly transfer all "Outlook" data to a new computer, so I thought about giving that a try. I am also afraid they are gonna run into other things.

If there is anything else you need to know, let me know.

Thank you guys,

Landon
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-10-2011, 08:54 PM
16k_zx81's Avatar
16k_zx81 16k_zx81 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,830
16k_zx81 is a jewel in the rough16k_zx81 is a jewel in the rough16k_zx81 is a jewel in the rough
Default

Laplink PC mover.

HIW too messy if you already are having probs with the machine. Fresh install, transfer progs and data. Done. Use software and disk or connect machines via cable. Process isnt quick but results are generally pretty good

If you do want to do HIW, then Storagecraft's products are probably the best (by reputation, anyway)
__________________
"Do something you love, and you'll never work a day in your life"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-10-2011, 09:11 PM
iisjman07's Avatar
iisjman07 iisjman07 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: South End Of The UK
Posts: 3,049
iisjman07 has a spectacular aura aboutiisjman07 has a spectacular aura about
Default

Acronis has a hardware independant imaging program, I forget what it's called. I believe o & o has a program that can do it as well which is more affordable
__________________
put that in your pipe and grep it
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-11-2011, 01:32 AM
lan101 lan101 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 821
lan101 is on a distinguished road
Default

Thank you for the replies!

How long approx does laplink pc mover take. This would only a couple 40GB hard drives that are a little over half full I believe.

Are we talking more than 2 hours for each?

Thank you,

Landon
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-11-2011, 04:38 AM
Crgky127 Crgky127 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 598
Crgky127 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Acronis Universal Restore makes it pretty easy.

BTW this situation is exactly why one day I want every production system at my company to be a VM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-11-2011, 05:04 AM
16k_zx81's Avatar
16k_zx81 16k_zx81 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: South Australia
Posts: 3,830
16k_zx81 is a jewel in the rough16k_zx81 is a jewel in the rough16k_zx81 is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lan101 View Post
Thank you for the replies!

How long approx does laplink pc mover take. This would only a couple 40GB hard drives that are a little over half full I believe.

Are we talking more than 2 hours for each?

Thank you,

Landon
It can be quite a long process. Allow 2-4 to be on the safe side
__________________
"Do something you love, and you'll never work a day in your life"
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-11-2011, 05:45 AM
lan101 lan101 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 821
lan101 is on a distinguished road
Default

ok thank you for the info.

Also does it work with outlook 2007 and transfering e-mail data?

It doesn't specifically say that on their site. It says Microsoft Office.


I didn't know if you have used it with transfering that.

Thank you,

Landon
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-11-2011, 02:35 PM
lan101 lan101 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 821
lan101 is on a distinguished road
Default

it will not transfer email and settings on outlook 2007 according to a tech support from their company.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-11-2011, 02:44 PM
Vicenarian's Avatar
Vicenarian Vicenarian is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,946
Vicenarian has a spectacular aura aboutVicenarian has a spectacular aura about
Default

Check out Fab's Autobackup. The paid version.
__________________
2 Corinthians 5:21 "For God made Christ, who never sinned, to be the offering for our sin (by dying in our place), so that we could be made right with God through Christ."
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-11-2011, 03:49 PM
DanB DanB is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Prairie City, Oregon
Posts: 92
DanB is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Redo Backup

I would create a disk image if the settings are important to have. Fabs autobackup is a good choice if you just want the files, settings and mail of the user to seamlessly go on another install. As stated above go with the paid version.

Redo Backup is a great imaging utility that is free. It is also fairly fast. I like to keep image files before I get wild with new install. New installs on quality servers is a good time to consider using Virtual Machines as well. Makes your life so much easier when that new update takes the outlook down.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.