Go Back   Technibble Forums > Operating Systems > Microsoft Windows

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-31-2010, 01:20 AM
phaZed's Avatar
phaZed phaZed is online now
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,792
phaZed is a jewel in the roughphaZed is a jewel in the roughphaZed is a jewel in the rough
Default STRANGE: Only IDE mode will boot Windows XP, not AHCI

Here's a strange problem,

Netbook, Acer Aspire ONE AOD250

One day, out of the blue this computer stops loading windows XP SP3. The loading screen appears with the status indicator, but simply does not load. Hard drive activity stops precisely as the WiFi light appears (and blinks). I have waited over an hour.

Safe mode works fine, SM w/ Networking works as well.

A scan with Malwarebytes and SUPERAntiSpyware have been performed with nothing more than a few tracking cookies. I don't believe this problem is Virus related, but performed the scans anyway. TDSS Root kit revealed nothing.
I have disabled devices such as Wifi, NIC, Sound, etc... and tried to start normally. All drivers have been reinstalled, checked, or updated. The BIOS has been updated. The Intel Matrix storage manager has been removed and reinstalled. All NO-GO.
OK, so let's repair Windows right? Hook up the external USB DVD drive with WinXP SP3, it loads and then Windows reports that no hard drives were detected. I know this system doesn't need any extra drivers. So, now I stick in the XP install USB memory stick that I have used previously many times and the system reports it cant find bootmgr (or NTLDR, because I tried BOTH types). Now I have to try something else. I changed the SATA controller from AHCI to IDE in the BIOS, and windows will boot slowly (10 mins to user profiles), but it boots! My XP USB drive and USB DVD also WORKS in IDE mode, and both the DVD XP install and USB XP install see the hard drive!

Also, I was able to get into recovery console, and replaced the kernel32.dll with one from the XP install. I changed the BIOS back to AHCI and windows BOOTS ONE TIME, then fails after subsequent boots. WTF!

So, the Hard drive or HD Controller essentially works in IDE mode, and not in AHCI mode. I have my bet on a failing Intel SATA controller, but if that were the case, why would a kernel32.dll replacement cause perfect operation ONE TIME?

What do you think? Any suggestions? I'm almost out of tricks here!

[EDIT]
Forgot to say that Windows logs, and Boot logging didn't result in any significant finds. Error logs in Windows only report DCOM service not started (Because of Safe Mode).
MBR has been re-written, and CHKDSK passed too. MemTest86+ Also completed 4 passes..
[/EDIT]

Sincerely,
Aaron H.
__________________

Aaron Heidlebaugh
Computer Technician / Owner
www.AaronsPCSupport.com
804-307-4465 (Call or Text)
Laptop LCD repair | DC Power Jack Repair | Virus Removal
Desktop Repair | Hardware | Software | Troubleshooting

Last edited by phaZed; 12-31-2010 at 01:26 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-31-2010, 01:48 AM
geekhelp4u's Avatar
geekhelp4u geekhelp4u is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cypress, Texas
Posts: 845
geekhelp4u will become famous soon enough
Send a message via Skype™ to geekhelp4u
Default

Its a long shot but try this reg fix and also make sure you have IaStor.sys located at C:\Windows\System32\drivers\

Code:
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\CriticalDeviceDatabase\pci#ven_8086&dev_2922&cc_0106]
"Service"="iaStor"
"ClassGUID"="{4D36E96A-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\iaStor]
"Type"=dword:00000001
"Start"=dword:00000000
"Group"="SCSI miniport"
"ErrorControl"=dword:00000001
"ImagePath"="system32\\drivers\\iaStor.sys"
"tag"=dword:00000019
"DisplayName"="Intel AHCI Controller"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\iaStor\Parameters]
"queuePriorityEnable"=dword:00000000

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\iaStor\Enum]
"0"="PCI\\VEN_8086&DEV_2922&SUBSYS_B0051458&REV_02\\3&13c0b0c5&0&FA"
"Count"=dword:00000001
"NextInstance"=dword:00000001
__________________
-----------------------------------
Chris Pfeffer

Military: United States Army Communications and Networking Specialist
Civilian: Service Desk Team Lead


http://www.geekhelp4u.com

Last edited by geekhelp4u; 12-31-2010 at 01:50 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-31-2010, 02:10 AM
phaZed's Avatar
phaZed phaZed is online now
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,792
phaZed is a jewel in the roughphaZed is a jewel in the roughphaZed is a jewel in the rough
Default

Hey Chris,

Thanks for the hail mary, and good thinking. However, the registry is identical to what you have in your post (minus the vendor #'s of course), also iaStor.sys is in place, and the size/date are in order as well.

Here are some more clues:

Boot in IDE mode:
SafeMode does not work (quick bluescreen)
Regular Boot does work

Boot in AHCI mode:
Safemode does work
Regular mode does NOT work

I think I am going to try a Nuke n Pave after I make a drive image.

Sincerely,
Aaron H.
__________________

Aaron Heidlebaugh
Computer Technician / Owner
www.AaronsPCSupport.com
804-307-4465 (Call or Text)
Laptop LCD repair | DC Power Jack Repair | Virus Removal
Desktop Repair | Hardware | Software | Troubleshooting
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-31-2010, 02:25 AM
ajc196's Avatar
ajc196 ajc196 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 319
ajc196 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Turn on AHCI in the system first. Then slipstream the SATA driver pack into an OEM XP disc with DPBase and nLite, then run a repair installation.

http://driverpacks.net/driverpacks/w...-storage/10.11
http://driverpacks.net/applications/latest

http://www.nliteos.com/download.html
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-31-2010, 03:17 AM
phaZed's Avatar
phaZed phaZed is online now
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,792
phaZed is a jewel in the roughphaZed is a jewel in the roughphaZed is a jewel in the rough
Default

ajc196,
That may have worked, but it's too late to tell now

I found this http://ezinearticles.com/?How-To-Rep...very&id=794500

ACER has a recovery partition of which the BIOS checks at boot, and does some magic with a custom MBR. The above instructions seemed to have fixed the MBR to allow the recovery partition to become accessible by pressing ALT+F10 at BIOS. This did not fix the Windows partition, but the Manufacturer recovery partition worked fine. Also, to clear any suspicion, the recovery partition was unavailable before I wrote a standard MBR with recovery console.

The system has now been recovered, and is in a stock state (Which the customer is now requesting - guess those POGO games weren't that important after all ).

Thanks for all of your help everyone.

Sincerely,
Aaron H.
__________________

Aaron Heidlebaugh
Computer Technician / Owner
www.AaronsPCSupport.com
804-307-4465 (Call or Text)
Laptop LCD repair | DC Power Jack Repair | Virus Removal
Desktop Repair | Hardware | Software | Troubleshooting
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-04-2011, 09:19 PM
shfire2000's Avatar
shfire2000 shfire2000 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Bristow, VA
Posts: 12
shfire2000 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ajc196 View Post
Turn on AHCI in the system first. Then slipstream the SATA driver pack into an OEM XP disc with DPBase and nLite, then run a repair installation.
I have updated a few PC's to AHCI. Find and install the manufacturers AHCI drivers before switching the BIOS settings. For Vista and Win 7 check/ change the following registry settings from Microsofts KB 922976:
  1. Exit all Windows-based programs.
  2. Click Start, type regedit in the Start Search box, and then press ENTER.
  3. If you receive the User Account Control dialog box, click Continue.
  4. Locate and then click one of the following registry subkeys:
  5. HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Servic es\Msahci
  6. HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Servic es\IastorV
  7. In the right pane, right-click Start in the Name column, and then click Modify.
  8. In the Value data box, type 0, and then click OK.
  9. On the File menu, click Exit to close Registry

With Vista SP1 or any windows version after you should be ok after that to change the BIOS and the computer should boot up fine. You will need to what ajc196 said for any versions prior to Vista SP1.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-06-2011, 05:09 AM
XFalloutX XFalloutX is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 145
XFalloutX is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Just a side note
I actually had a update change the AHCI settings and cause the computer not to work unless you switched it back. Only happend once.
__________________
I'm a computer tech not a english major, that's why I have spell check.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.