Go Back   Technibble Forums > Service Solutions > Servers

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-08-2010, 12:20 AM
SpeedTechPC SpeedTechPC is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Johnson City, TN
Posts: 53
SpeedTechPC is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via Skype™ to SpeedTechPC
Default Personal server

hey everyone. I am wanting to set up a personal server for my business that way when I am not with all my files, I can still access them from another machine. I don't know a lot about servers and setups but after reading and searching around it seems that VPN would work for me. The main problem I come into is having an address to connect to my server machine remotely when I want. Is there anyway to do this or is the VPN just going to be good over a network? Thanks...any ebooks or websites that may help would be totally appreciated as well!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-08-2010, 12:57 AM
jojo jojo is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 7
jojo is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

look at the pogo plug items
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-08-2010, 01:54 AM
NeutronTech's Avatar
NeutronTech NeutronTech is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Grayling, Michigan
Posts: 1,355
NeutronTech will become famous soon enough
Send a message via Yahoo to NeutronTech
Default

Sign up for a dynamic DNS service like dyndns.com . It downloads a program to your computer that updates their servers with your current IP address. Then your given a url that you would use, that then forwards to the current IP address. Then you could either just set up an FTP server, or set up a normal VPN as usual using the url to connect to your server.

Oh, some routers have a section in the setup that allows you to enter your name and password for dyndns. That way you won't need the program, so check your router to see.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-08-2010, 02:05 AM
SpeedTechPC SpeedTechPC is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Johnson City, TN
Posts: 53
SpeedTechPC is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via Skype™ to SpeedTechPC
Default

awesome...thank you both for the response
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-08-2010, 03:43 PM
onetech4all's Avatar
onetech4all onetech4all is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inland Empire, CA
Posts: 520
onetech4all is on a distinguished road
Default Re:

http://www.no-ip.com/ is what I've used for the past 5-6 years. Works just great for remote access, FTP, remote desktop, web.
__________________
"Do you work to live, or do you live to work?"
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-08-2010, 03:49 PM
NeutronTech's Avatar
NeutronTech NeutronTech is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Grayling, Michigan
Posts: 1,355
NeutronTech will become famous soon enough
Send a message via Yahoo to NeutronTech
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by onetech4all View Post
http://www.no-ip.com/ is what I've used for the past 5-6 years. Works just great for remote access, FTP, remote desktop, web.
That was the other one I was trying to think of. It's the one I've always used too, but it's been a couple years. It was on the tip of my tongue and couldn't think of it. Hate when that happens.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-08-2010, 03:56 PM
pcman2010 pcman2010 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: wa
Posts: 211
pcman2010 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NeutronTech View Post
That was the other one I was trying to think of. It's the one I've always used too, but it's been a couple years. It was on the tip of my tongue and couldn't think of it. Hate when that happens.
No ip is the way to go..
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-08-2010, 07:28 PM
ljtechservices ljtechservices is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Normal, IL
Posts: 638
ljtechservices is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Skype™ to ljtechservices
Default

whats the difference between no-ip and dyndns.
I've been using dyndns almost since it's inception.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-13-2010, 06:56 PM
ATSCF ATSCF is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 215
ATSCF is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ljtechservices View Post
whats the difference between no-ip and dyndns.
I've been using dyndns almost since it's inception.
They are the same, they are just the competition.

I have a windows home server which gives me what I need for a home server.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-15-2010, 08:50 PM
Cuban_Tech's Avatar
Cuban_Tech Cuban_Tech is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hialeah Gardens, FL
Posts: 77
Cuban_Tech is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via ICQ to Cuban_Tech
Default

+1 for Pogoplug. These are really easy to set up and very affordable. You can read a review here http://www.pcworld.com/reviews/produ.../pogoplug.html. If you don't like them then I think WHS is the way to go.
__________________
This isn't about fixing computers. It's about fixing users.
http://www.fredyitsolutions.com

Open source for life!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.