Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Tech-to-Tech Computer Help

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-12-2010, 04:53 AM
dannyp32 dannyp32 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 11
dannyp32 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Blue screen

I was defragmenting with defraggler and after it finished i restarted the computer, then right after the microsoft windows xp boot logo came up i got this blue screen. This computer is pretty old, and it wont boot from any of my cd's or usb's. i tried last known good configuration, and i got the same error. Also, safe mode isnt working either because I get the same blue screen.
STOP: c000021a {Fatal System Error}
The Windows Logon Process system process terminated unexpectedly

If there's no way I can fix it, what do you suggest I tell my client. I'm really worried because it was working when he gave it to me and it's like if I left it worse than before. This is the first time this happens to me and I feel real bad. I'm not going to charge anything
please help i would really appreciate it

Last edited by dannyp32; 11-12-2010 at 06:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-12-2010, 08:13 AM
MobileTechie's Avatar
MobileTechie MobileTechie is online now
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 4,172
MobileTechie has a spectacular aura aboutMobileTechie has a spectacular aura about
Default

If you can't boot from cd or usb then you're going to have trouble fixing it. But why not?

Last edited by MobileTechie; 11-12-2010 at 09:07 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-12-2010, 08:48 AM
Cadishead Computers's Avatar
Cadishead Computers Cadishead Computers is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 3,639
Cadishead Computers is a jewel in the roughCadishead Computers is a jewel in the roughCadishead Computers is a jewel in the rough
Default

What other steps have you taken to diagnose this error, apart from posting in here?

I had the exact same error message yesterday on a clients machine, whilst I was on site. I had to bring the pc back to the workshop, slave the drive to my a/v test bench, and run all manner of av's etc. Turned out it had over 100 virus infections.
__________________
Hope this helps
Be Safe

Nige
Cadishead Computers
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-12-2010, 10:24 AM
dannyd dannyd is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Accrington Lancashire UK
Posts: 129
dannyd is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/156669
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-12-2010, 10:27 AM
MobileTechie's Avatar
MobileTechie MobileTechie is online now
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 4,172
MobileTechie has a spectacular aura aboutMobileTechie has a spectacular aura about
Default

Why are you posting as two different people?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-12-2010, 10:41 AM
dannyd dannyd is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Accrington Lancashire UK
Posts: 129
dannyd is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MobileTechie View Post
Why are you posting as two different people?
He's not lol he just has a similar username as mine.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-12-2010, 10:42 AM
MobileTechie's Avatar
MobileTechie MobileTechie is online now
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 4,172
MobileTechie has a spectacular aura aboutMobileTechie has a spectacular aura about
Default

Oh sorry - I thought your post was a reply to the previous posters question about what else had been done. Putting 2 and 2 together and getting 5!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-12-2010, 10:45 AM
dannyd dannyd is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Accrington Lancashire UK
Posts: 129
dannyd is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MobileTechie View Post
Oh sorry - I thought your post was a reply to the previous posters question about what else had been done. Putting 2 and 2 together and getting 5!
No hopefully that article might explain the error code in more detail for him.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-12-2010, 03:52 PM
dannyp32 dannyp32 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 11
dannyp32 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Thanks for the quick replies, I have only tried last known good configuration, since safe mode isn't working and booting from discs/USB is not working either. yes I set the cddrive to first boot device but it doesn't prompt me to boot from cd on startup and it doesn't have a startup boot menu.
Dannyd thanks I have already read the article on this error code though
I'm a beginner so I don't have enough equipment to put a laptop harddrive on another machine.
Edited:
Do I just need one of these
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-245-_-Product

Last edited by dannyp32; 11-12-2010 at 05:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-12-2010, 03:55 PM
ATTech ATTech is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sacramento Area, CA
Posts: 1,784
ATTech is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dannyp32 View Post
Thanks for the quick replies, I have only tried last known good configuration, since safe mode isn't working and booting from discs/USB is not working either. yes I set the cddrive to first boot device but it doesn't prompt me to boot from cd on startup and it doesn't have a startup boot menu.
I'm a beginner so I don't have enough equipment to put a laptop harddrive on another machine.
In that case, I would give the machine back to the client and tell them that you don't have the resources to properly troubleshoot their machine.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.