Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > General Computer Chit-Chat

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-01-2010, 06:23 PM
Simmy's Avatar
Simmy Simmy is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 1,442
Simmy is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Simmy
Default Vonage (Or other VOIP recommendations?) - Time taken to port number?

Lo all

I'm in the middle of moving offices but the new office is in a different area code. To keep my current number, I need to transfer it to VOIP. I don't want to use BT if possible as their CS has been shocking.

We want to transfer the number to vonage (or any other recommended VOIP company) but apparantly it takes 10 days to port the number across. My question is, will the phone number be unreachable for all of those 10 days?
__________________

Computer Repair Bristol | Bristol IT Support
Vidahost Discount Code | FreeAgent Discount Code | PM Me For A TeamViewer Discount Code
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-01-2010, 08:37 PM
edgepcs's Avatar
edgepcs edgepcs is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 237
edgepcs is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I use Vonage but they weren't able to transfer my number when I moved from Skype (Kept dropping calls) so I had to start again.
But ever since they have been brilliant, it is easy to set up and administer my line.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-01-2010, 09:40 PM
Simmy's Avatar
Simmy Simmy is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 1,442
Simmy is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Simmy
Default

what do you mean you had to start again - as in you lost the number?!
__________________

Computer Repair Bristol | Bristol IT Support
Vidahost Discount Code | FreeAgent Discount Code | PM Me For A TeamViewer Discount Code
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-02-2010, 12:10 PM
edgepcs's Avatar
edgepcs edgepcs is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 237
edgepcs is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Yeah was such a pain.
Skype numbers are terrible. It was costing me about 20 per month in redirect calls and half of them would never reach me.
I decided to bite the bullet and change numbers. I mailed all of my clients letting them know the change although I never heard from some of them again. Was a little quiet for a while but then things went back to normal thankfully.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-02-2010, 03:20 PM
lassenpc's Avatar
lassenpc lassenpc is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Susanville CA USA
Posts: 221
lassenpc is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Used Vonage for almost 10 years, 5 of those with the business, fairly reliable. Would get complaint from reoccurring customers once awhile that they would call and get a msg, 'This # no longer in service' ??

Switched to Nextiva (Don't know if they are available on your side of the pond) a few months ago for the reliability concerns, and more options (multiple extensions, outside extensions, multiple lines, all with Cisco phones). Took 3 weeks, was not without our Main phone # during any of it.

They send out the hardware, you have it hooked up and ready / 'on' with a temp # before they throw 'the switch'; once they do, your new phone hardware / service rings instead of the old. Requires basic / intermediate networking skills to program / setup. CS very easy to work with, quick to answer phone, pleasant. Nice change over Vonage.
__________________
Aaron Barnes, Owner
www.lassenpc.com
help@lassenpc.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-02-2010, 06:52 PM
bytes bytes is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 180
bytes is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I used to work for Vonage years ago when they first opened. I will say they have come a long way. The service seems to be better. In order to port your number over. You have to pay for both services until your number ports. LNP (local number portablity) used to be a nightmare. Seems like they have things under control now.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-19-2010, 10:03 PM
PC ONSITE PC ONSITE is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
PC ONSITE is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Hi Simmy,

Are you thinking of keeping the number with a voip provider for some time?

Here is a link to a good telecoms company based in bath that I have used for myself and my clients.

http://www.gradwell.com/

regards

Rob
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.