Go Back   Technibble Forums > Operating Systems > Microsoft Windows

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-20-2010, 08:06 AM
smlie4 smlie4 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 101
smlie4 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default BSOD Straight after Windows XP loader screen.

Okay here is the scenario.

Went out to job and diagnose Windows XP not getting past the black Windows XP loader screen the loader bar. Tried to boot in safe mode with no success. I tested the hard drive with Seagate diagnostics and found drive dying.

I pulled drive out of computer and took it home and cloned onto new drive with HD Clone which notified me some errors coping all data. I then ran CHKDSK on new drive in my workshop computer after 3 hours the computer booted up on my computer I ran windows important updates and took drive back to customers house.

After installing drive in customers computer I got BSOD ***STOP: 0x0000007e (0xc0000005,0xcf75e7750,0xf78a242c,0xf78a2128) straight after Windows XP Loader screen (the one before the logon screen).

I tried safe boot mode and it loaded ok, so I used system restore to go back before my updates and restarted still BSOD.

I took customers computer back home and tried drive in my computer and it started with no problems.

I used AUTORUNS and stage by stage unchecked items and restarted each time until I have unchecked everything and still BSOD!

I went into the device manager and uninstalled VIDEO/CHIP/MOUSE/KEYBOARD/HDD/SOUND drivers and still getting BSOD after Windows loader screen.

Decided to call it quits and I was going to NUKE and PAVE, as it is OEM version I didn't think I could do a repair install but when I put in my OEM XP home installation disk and went to install there was the repair installation "R" available so I did a repair installation. This still failed to fix the BSOD.

I am guessing when I used system restore it removed all the windows updates I updated so that rules out that and only leaves driver problem and the system loads fine on my computer and not the customers computer which the drive was cloned from makes me it would be a driver associated with my MOBO/VIDEO/SOUND.

Customers needs computer back so I am just going to NUKE and PAVE, but I open for comments on other things I could have done for future reference.
__________________
The 3 laws of science....
1. If it smells bad, It's chemistry.
2. If it's mushy, It's biology.
3. If it doesn't work, It's physics.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-20-2010, 08:16 AM
smlie4 smlie4 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 101
smlie4 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I just had a thought.. The hard drive was originally hanging at the same place it is now BSOD'ing. Now the hard drive has been replaced I am guessing this area is damaged still (because I cloned the drive). As it works on my computer but not customer, this means it is a driver associated with customers computer?

*Also I swapped RAM across from working computer al ot earlier in the process and did not make difference.
__________________
The 3 laws of science....
1. If it smells bad, It's chemistry.
2. If it's mushy, It's biology.
3. If it doesn't work, It's physics.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-20-2010, 10:11 AM
iptech iptech is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: PC Biz
Posts: 2,067
iptech is on the way
Default

The problem is caused by filesystem damage, this may be caused by a failing hard drive, but can also be caused by improper shutdown, virus activity or fragmentation.

Firstly you need to decide of was a hardware fault on the old drive causing the problem, if that tests OK then you need to diagnose the bootup issues on a known good drive. If you randomly stab at software fixes you're asking for trouble and it will take you forever to fix the problem especially if you're working on a failing hard drive.

As the computer boots in Safe Mode I would be looking at a driver issue, this could well be a rootkit infection rather than a genuine device driver issue.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-20-2010, 10:21 AM
smlie4 smlie4 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 101
smlie4 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iptech View Post
Firstly you need to decide of was a hardware fault on the old drive causing the problem.
Seagate hard drive diagnostics said the old drive had several errors and should be replaced. I have not tested the new drive, but the old drive would not boot in safe mode whereas the new drive will happily boot in safe mode.
__________________
The 3 laws of science....
1. If it smells bad, It's chemistry.
2. If it's mushy, It's biology.
3. If it doesn't work, It's physics.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-20-2010, 10:44 AM
B Trevathan B Trevathan is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Tennessee, USA
Posts: 519
B Trevathan is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by smlie4 View Post
As it works on my computer but not customer, this means it is a driver associated with customers computer?
We know windows loads only minimal generic drivers in safe mode and the new drive that you put in the customers computer loaded windows ok in safe mode but would not load windows in normal mode and this was after you ran windows updates on the drive while it was in a different computer, yes I think your right it does sounds like it could be a driver problem.


I wonder if rolling back to a previously installed driver or even uninstalling the updates would help.


Did you think any of the information on this page will help:
How to troubleshoot a Stop 0x0000007E error in Windows XP
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/330182
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-20-2010, 11:17 AM
smlie4 smlie4 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 101
smlie4 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by B Trevathan View Post

I wonder if rolling back to a previously installed driver or even uninstalling the updates would help.
I did originally use System Restore to go back to a time before.. I got my grubby little mits on the computer. I would have thought this would include drivers.

If not I also though I would have covered this off when I uninstalled all the common drivers video/sound etc so windows would load as though it does on a fresh install before you put the motherboard cd in with all the drivers.

I have never really been conscious of it, but now I think of it drivers only ever come under the optional updates and never under important updates and I always recommend to my customers to stay clear of optional updates as they included things like graphics driver updates which sometimes lead to BSOD issues and can be more trouble than they are worth.

Quote:
Originally Posted by B Trevathan View Post

Did you think any of the information on this page will help:
How to troubleshoot a Stop 0x0000007E error in Windows XP
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/330182
I did look at this page a couple of hours ago.

I am right in thinking Windows Fixit does not work in safe mode?

I never thought of touching BIOS like it mentions as I would have thought this would be okay.

I used AUTORUNS to disable every service, 3rd party drivers & any box that I could untick in AUTORUNS I unticked it.

I probably would love to read a flow chart on what windows loads through the stages of startup, I am pretty sure at this stage of loading no 3rd party programs would be loaded.

I must mention when I did repair install it won't safe start now, as windows wants to finish the repair installation but will not allow it in safe start and because I can not start in normal mode I have check mated myself.

I would still like to keep the discussion going though as I am learning things.
__________________
The 3 laws of science....
1. If it smells bad, It's chemistry.
2. If it's mushy, It's biology.
3. If it doesn't work, It's physics.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-20-2010, 11:30 AM
TLE's Avatar
TLE TLE is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,237
TLE is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
I pulled drive out of computer and took it home and cloned onto new drive with HD Clone which notified me some errors coping all data. I then ran CHKDSK on new drive in my workshop computer after 3 hours the computer booted up on my computer I ran windows important updates and took drive back to customers house.
Hmm, so you cloned the drive and installed it, and booted from it on your own PC before trying it in your customers PC, as well as installing updates. To be honest I am suprsied it didn't BSOD on your system as Windows installations are tied to the hardware they are installed on, unless the installation has had sysprep run against it.

I suspect when it booted it installed additional drivers for the new hardware config such as Chipset, Graphics, LAN etc. etc. rendering it incompatable with your customers systems

Last edited by TLE; 10-20-2010 at 11:47 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-20-2010, 11:41 AM
gazza gazza is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 518
gazza can only hope to improve
Default

Why would you clone a failing drive to new drive? The failing drive has a damaged file system so cloning it to a new drive is only going to carry over the damaged file system. Backup the clients data from the failing drive and do a clean install on the new drive and restore their data.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-20-2010, 11:57 AM
smlie4 smlie4 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 101
smlie4 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TLE View Post
To be honest I am suprsied it didn't BSOD on your system as Windows installations are tied to the hardware they are installed on, unless the installastion has had sysprep run against it.
I was surprised to when it worked on my computer (give me an inch and I will take a 6 miles) and I realize doing Windows updates on my computer was rookie error I won't make again. Even more surprising the customers computer is AMD and mine Intel.

My thought was at the time that I didn't want to sit at customers house for another hour whilst windows updated its self as I had stuff to do at home.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TLE View Post
I suspect when it booted it installed additional drivers for the new hardware config such as Chipset, Graphics, LAN etc. etc. rendering it incompatable with your customers systems
I did get the usual XP new hardware has been detected wizard popup, but I just cancelled them.

I did uninstall the Processor driver which had no effect.

There was over 20 drivers under the System devices, with names like ACPI fixed feature button, direct memory access controller, Microcode Update Device. I am guessing these are all related to the MOBO?
__________________
The 3 laws of science....
1. If it smells bad, It's chemistry.
2. If it's mushy, It's biology.
3. If it doesn't work, It's physics.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-20-2010, 12:06 PM
smlie4 smlie4 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 101
smlie4 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gazza View Post
Why would you clone a failing drive to new drive? The failing drive has a damaged file system so cloning it to a new drive is only going to carry over the damaged file system. Backup the clients data from the failing drive and do a clean install on the new drive and restore their data.
Computer was from accountant and had a few specialist programs setup. The idea was to clone and then run CHKDSK to repair errors.

This did work to some extent because the drive was happily booting on my computer, it was just when it came to using drive in computer the drive was cloned from.
__________________
The 3 laws of science....
1. If it smells bad, It's chemistry.
2. If it's mushy, It's biology.
3. If it doesn't work, It's physics.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.