Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Tech-to-Tech Computer Help

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-08-2010, 01:53 AM
gunslinger's Avatar
gunslinger gunslinger is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Cookeville, Tennessee
Posts: 3,170
gunslinger has a spectacular aura aboutgunslinger has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via Skype™ to gunslinger
Default Windows 7 on iMac

I have been trying for hours to dual book my 27" iMac with Win 7. It says it installs then the screen goes black and nothing. I have tried a repair and still nothing but a black screen.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-08-2010, 01:58 AM
14049752 14049752 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,314
14049752 has a spectacular aura about14049752 has a spectacular aura about
Default

Cool story, bro.



(I'm guessing you didn't google it....because........it's pretty easy to find a solution.)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-08-2010, 02:02 AM
gunslinger's Avatar
gunslinger gunslinger is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Cookeville, Tennessee
Posts: 3,170
gunslinger has a spectacular aura aboutgunslinger has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via Skype™ to gunslinger
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 14049752 View Post
Cool story, bro.



(I'm guessing you didn't google it....because........it's pretty easy to find a solution.)

Actually smart ass thats the first thing I did was google it. As of now I have tried a repair install, command prompt repair, installing drivers from USB , ect and none of the fixes from the almighty google have worked. Thanks for the completely useless comment though.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-08-2010, 02:18 AM
basic basic is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 557
basic is on a distinguished road
Default

Lol...is this a parody thread?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-08-2010, 02:24 AM
gunslinger's Avatar
gunslinger gunslinger is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Cookeville, Tennessee
Posts: 3,170
gunslinger has a spectacular aura aboutgunslinger has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via Skype™ to gunslinger
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 14049752 View Post
No problem, I aim to please.

Also, when there's a youtube video of a ten year old going through the install process, explaining WHY you get the blank screen and how to fix it, I'd expect an adult technician to be able to figure it out.

Literally...a ten year old.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XpreQ23Yz1I
Yeah, I think I already said I tried that. This is not my first time installing Windows on an iMac. Its the first time I have done it on mine. I have tried copying the driver over. I like how you assume you are smarter than the rest of the world. Its people like you that give other techs a bad name.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-08-2010, 02:27 AM
14049752 14049752 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,314
14049752 has a spectacular aura about14049752 has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gunslinger View Post
Yeah, I think I already said I tried that. This is not my first time installing Windows on an iMac. I have tried copying the driver over. I like how you assume you are smarter than the rest of the world. Its people like you that give other techs a bad name.

It's awesome how your imac is a unique and beautiful snowflake and the fix that works for everyone else doesn't work for you.

You don't copy the driver, you delete it. I mean, there are a number of threads on this and every single one says "That fixed it". So...yeah, let me keep giving other techs a bad name because I know how to follow instructions.

I gave you the answer, which...y'know, is totally cool of me because I'm so much smarter than everyone everywhere. If you don't like it, keep guessing, but I'm done needlessly provoking someone. (I met my daily quota. Thanks!)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-08-2010, 02:52 AM
gunslinger's Avatar
gunslinger gunslinger is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Cookeville, Tennessee
Posts: 3,170
gunslinger has a spectacular aura aboutgunslinger has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via Skype™ to gunslinger
Default

Fugured it out. I tried a 32 bit version and it worked perfectly. The disc was bad.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-08-2010, 02:59 AM
14049752 14049752 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,314
14049752 has a spectacular aura about14049752 has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gunslinger View Post
Fugured it out. I tried a 32 bit version and it worked perfectly. The disc was bad.

You're welcome.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-08-2010, 03:11 AM
gunslinger's Avatar
gunslinger gunslinger is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Cookeville, Tennessee
Posts: 3,170
gunslinger has a spectacular aura aboutgunslinger has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via Skype™ to gunslinger
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 14049752 View Post

You're welcome.
No thanks. You were not helpful.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-08-2010, 03:15 AM
14049752 14049752 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,314
14049752 has a spectacular aura about14049752 has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gunslinger View Post
No thanks. You were not helpful.
Oh, c'mon. You wouldn't say if I were, at this point. Don't worry, it's our little secret. But seriously....you're welcome.

By the way...that problem happens in 32-bit, too. The fix is the same. You delete the C:\Windows\System32\drivers\ (whatever ATI file it is) and it works on the next reboot. The likelyhood that everyone else that had the exact same problem and did that fix just had a bad disc...pretty much zero.

Seriously, I'm done. Nice cover, though.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.