Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Tech-to-Tech Computer Help

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-04-2010, 09:55 AM
BCC BCC is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: The far west of Ireland
Posts: 69
BCC is an unknown quantity at this point
Default replacing hdd on Advent 5712 laptop?

has anyone got any links or guides or ideas on how to replace the hard disk drive in this lappy? I can see it underneath the hdd cover but it seems to be connected under the chassis somehow & I can't see how or where to take it apart, I've searched the net for hrs....

Thanks in advance of any help
BCC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-04-2010, 10:15 AM
TLE's Avatar
TLE TLE is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,239
TLE is on a distinguished road
Default

Might be worth posting a picture of the hatch so that people can see it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-04-2010, 01:20 PM
BCC BCC is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: The far west of Ireland
Posts: 69
BCC is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

yea, good idea, will do !
thnx, bcc
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-04-2010, 01:46 PM
joydivision's Avatar
joydivision joydivision is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 3,400
joydivision will become famous soon enough
Default

I've seen a few where you have to remove the keyboard to get to the HD caddy so its probably that.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-06-2010, 06:45 PM
BCC BCC is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: The far west of Ireland
Posts: 69
BCC is an unknown quantity at this point
Default pics of hard disk in-situ

Many thanks for your replies...

Luckily, well kinda, we did a raw-copy of the drive to another hdd & went to remove the drive & that's when we realised it's not as easy to remove as usual... it's turning out to be an absolute nightmare... & now very urgent that we get the hdd out of it's chassis & replaced.... because in our wisdom....... we decided to carry on with the 'tune-up' work on the orig drive... & all was going well until we came to do the Vista SP2, didn't work & got as far as doing step 3 of 3 0% & now that's all it'll do.... so we really need that drive replaced & back to square 1...

I've uploaded the following pics in the desperate hope that someone can shed some light on how the heck the hdd comes out.... please!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg base.jpg (95.6 KB, 251 views)
File Type: jpg covers off base.jpg (90.5 KB, 292 views)
File Type: jpg hdd from other side.jpg (87.2 KB, 310 views)
File Type: jpg hdd positioned against the chassis.jpg (90.2 KB, 330 views)
File Type: jpg top-view of lappy.jpg (91.4 KB, 275 views)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-06-2010, 07:49 PM
Charlotte PC Charlotte PC is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 104
Charlotte PC is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

There are typically 2-4 screws holding chassis in. I think I can see two on the bottom of your picture. Remove the screws and pull the drive using the plastic tab. Should come out.
__________________

http://www.charlottepcworks.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-06-2010, 07:58 PM
iptech iptech is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: PC Biz
Posts: 2,069
iptech is on the way
Default

Remove the screws holding the HDD chassis to the laptop frame and lift the end facing the front of the laptop slightly so you can slide the drive back off the SATA interface.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-06-2010, 08:33 PM
loaner's Avatar
loaner loaner is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 170
loaner is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

this may not help at all, but....

vista has a file that holds the "reboot after update" info. I can't recall the file name, but maybe someone can call it out. i repaired a good friends laptop simply by deleting this file. after deletion, just started updating again and all went well.

it's named something like winsys.something....sorry, but i can tell you it's an .exe file.

....goss
__________________
"Computers are incredibly fast, accurate and stupid; humans are incredibly slow, inaccurate and brilliant; together they are powerful beyond imagination." -- Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-06-2010, 08:43 PM
iptech iptech is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: PC Biz
Posts: 2,069
iptech is on the way
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by loaner View Post
this may not help at all, but....

vista has a file that holds the "reboot after update" info. I can't recall the file name, but maybe someone can call it out. i repaired a good friends laptop simply by deleting this file. after deletion, just started updating again and all went well.

it's named something like winsys.something....sorry, but i can tell you it's an .exe file.

....goss
Use boot medium or Vista / Windows 7 Rescue Disk. From command prompt navigate to C:WindowsWinSxS. Delete "pending.xml". Reboot and enjoys the wonders of Vista.

That said, it'll be useless is physically removing a hard drive from a laptop.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-06-2010, 08:52 PM
loaner's Avatar
loaner loaner is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 170
loaner is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iptech View Post
Use boot medium or Vista / Windows 7 Rescue Disk. From command prompt navigate to C:WindowsWinSxS. Delete "pending.xml". Reboot and enjoys the wonders of Vista.

That said, it'll be useless is physically removing a hard drive from a laptop.
That's it....

you pulled that one out of your a$$ didn't ya iptech....nice job.

...goss
__________________
"Computers are incredibly fast, accurate and stupid; humans are incredibly slow, inaccurate and brilliant; together they are powerful beyond imagination." -- Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.