Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Tech-to-Tech Computer Help

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-20-2010, 07:58 PM
TechguyUK TechguyUK is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lincoln, UK
Posts: 190
TechguyUK is on a distinguished road
Default Offline Windows Update

I regularly do fresh XP and Vista installs for customers and after installing the OS and latest Service Pack I generally connect the machine to the net and run windows update...which for XP generally means around another 75 updates to download and install on top of SP3 and for Vista another 54 on top of SP2, each system invariable also needs a couple of reboots in between.

I know you can get iso's from MS containing all their latest security updates as well as build an MS update server for corporate deployment and that there are apps out there that will apparently manage your updates for you, but I'm not sure what the 'best' way is for a repair shop type enviroment.

I was wondering if any of you guys have any experience of storing updates locally and running windows update 'offline' ?
__________________
TechguyUK
Computer Repair & Support in Lincoln

'Making IT...work!'
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-20-2010, 08:09 PM
Xander's Avatar
Xander Xander is online now
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Niagara region, Ontario
Posts: 6,816
Xander is just really niceXander is just really niceXander is just really niceXander is just really nice
Default

Are you not using CDs slipstreamed to include the latest service packs? If you're not, it'll save you a ton of time and trouble and, then, only have to worry about the smaller updates.
__________________
Xander St Catharines Computer Repairs

New here? Watch this and read this. Remember, it's not our problem, it's yours so ask your questions well.
e.g. Make/Model#, Win version/SP#, BSOD 0x#. Consider posting Event Viewer logs, Autoruns exports or something.
More info means better answers and less snark.

Don't be parasitic and only pose your own questions. Help others.
Never trust a "tech" with a hotmail address.


D7 question/idea/etc? Bring it to the D7 Forums.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-20-2010, 08:14 PM
TechguyUK TechguyUK is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lincoln, UK
Posts: 190
TechguyUK is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eHousecalls.ca View Post
Are you not using CDs slipstreamed to include the latest service packs? If you're not, it'll save you a ton of time and trouble and, then, only have to worry about the smaller updates.
Yes I am using CDs slipstreamed with the latest SP, the issue is the 70+ KB/Security updates XP needs on top of SP3 or the 50+ vista needs on top of SP2 that I get fed up dowloading repeatedly via an online windows update on each machine.
__________________
TechguyUK
Computer Repair & Support in Lincoln

'Making IT...work!'
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-20-2010, 08:45 PM
dbdawn dbdawn is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 925
dbdawn will become famous soon enough
Default

Set up WSUS or use the 3rd part application "WSUS Offline Update"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-20-2010, 08:48 PM
xxsilk109xx's Avatar
xxsilk109xx xxsilk109xx is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 1,220
xxsilk109xx is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I too have this issue, and would like to know more about how that is done. Sometimes those 75 updates can take over an hour to install.
__________________
Keep Calm and Chive On!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-20-2010, 09:10 PM
ATTech ATTech is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sacramento Area, CA
Posts: 1,784
ATTech is on a distinguished road
Default

WSUS is so incredibly easy to set-up and manage.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-20-2010, 09:32 PM
TechguyUK TechguyUK is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lincoln, UK
Posts: 190
TechguyUK is on a distinguished road
Default

Ok, so assuming I set up a WSUS server, is it simply a question of 'pointing' customer machines that are in the shop at my WSUS server for their updates or do they need to be configured to be part of a domain or be running active directory etc in order to participate ?
__________________
TechguyUK
Computer Repair & Support in Lincoln

'Making IT...work!'
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-20-2010, 10:08 PM
ATTech ATTech is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sacramento Area, CA
Posts: 1,784
ATTech is on a distinguished road
Default

They don't have to be part of a domain. There is a script that you can find all over the internet that you run on a machine and it will point to your WSUS server for updates.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-20-2010, 10:31 PM
DarDar DarDar is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Ireland
Posts: 614
DarDar is on a distinguished road
Default

have a look at this
http://download.wsusoffline.net/

and this:
http://www.windowsupdatesdownloader....gramFiles.aspx
__________________
I like the idea of a god but not one that keeps attendances...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-21-2010, 06:01 AM
hyfidel hyfidel is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 137
hyfidel is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via Yahoo to hyfidel
Default

You don't even need to fuss with a WSUS server. Just run WSUS Offline Updater every month and then copy it to a couple of flash drives.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.