Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Tech-to-Tech Computer Help

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-18-2010, 06:21 PM
xxsilk109xx's Avatar
xxsilk109xx xxsilk109xx is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 1,220
xxsilk109xx is an unknown quantity at this point
Default on screen keyboard wont go away!

I am working on a vista laptop and i have everything sorted and cant figure out why when i start up the os, the on screen keyboard (osk.exe) starts automatically.

Here is what I have done.
1. I have checked the startup folder, nothing but the dell dock.
2. I checked autoruns, msconfig, and ccleaner and that file is not set to startup, as a matter of fact its not even listed.
3. I checked in the registry (HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\Run) and dont see anything but the "default" key
4. I checked the ease of access but dont see where i can select this not to autostart, and in the menu of the OSK, there is no "disable on startup" or any options for that matter that I can see that pertain to startup.

The only things I have set to start in CCLeaner are
1.windows defender
2. appoint (for the touchpad)
3. broadcom wireless manager
4. security essentials
5. sigmatel for the audio
6. lexmark 1100 series tray app

other than that nothing else shows starting in either autoruns, msconfig, or ccleaner.

Not sure what would be launching this?

Any ideas?

PS sorry if it is something easy that I have overlooked but I have been trying different stuff for 2 hours now.

thanks
__________________
Keep Calm and Chive On!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-18-2010, 06:24 PM
xxsilk109xx's Avatar
xxsilk109xx xxsilk109xx is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 1,220
xxsilk109xx is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

SOLVED - Well I did some more digging and found out that you have to:

1. Open ease of access
2. Click "Use the computer without a mouse or keyboard"
3. There you will find the option to turn it off.

Sorry, I guess I didnt see that when I clicked on it last time, must have overlooked it. At any rate, I hope this helps out anyone who has a similar problem.
__________________
Keep Calm and Chive On!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-18-2010, 06:25 PM
MrUnknown's Avatar
MrUnknown MrUnknown is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,347
MrUnknown is on a distinguished road
Default

a very quick google found this
http://forum.soft32.com/windows/Disa...ict342465.html

"disable automatic startup on screen keyboard"

edit: i posted when you did. =p
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-18-2010, 06:25 PM
NYJimbo's Avatar
NYJimbo NYJimbo is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Island, you know, like the iced tea.
Posts: 6,649
NYJimbo is a glorious beacon of lightNYJimbo is a glorious beacon of lightNYJimbo is a glorious beacon of lightNYJimbo is a glorious beacon of lightNYJimbo is a glorious beacon of light
Default

You mean this:

http://www.pchell.com/support/remove...keyboard.shtml
__________________
Asking for help ? If the make and model of your computer OR the O/S info is left off your post, I probably will not help you. It gets real old, real quick for me to have to ask for basic info just to help people.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-18-2010, 06:27 PM
xxsilk109xx's Avatar
xxsilk109xx xxsilk109xx is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 1,220
xxsilk109xx is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Yea I was reading from here and must have missed that part somehow. I opened up that part but guess I didnt see it.

http://www.vistax64.com/vista-genera...-keyboard.html
__________________
Keep Calm and Chive On!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-18-2010, 06:37 PM
NYJimbo's Avatar
NYJimbo NYJimbo is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Island, you know, like the iced tea.
Posts: 6,649
NYJimbo is a glorious beacon of lightNYJimbo is a glorious beacon of lightNYJimbo is a glorious beacon of lightNYJimbo is a glorious beacon of lightNYJimbo is a glorious beacon of light
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xxsilk109xx View Post
PS sorry if it is something easy that I have overlooked but I have been trying different stuff for 2 hours now.

thanks
Really, TWO HOURS ?
__________________
Asking for help ? If the make and model of your computer OR the O/S info is left off your post, I probably will not help you. It gets real old, real quick for me to have to ask for basic info just to help people.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-18-2010, 06:41 PM
xxsilk109xx's Avatar
xxsilk109xx xxsilk109xx is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 1,220
xxsilk109xx is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

well i didnt mean i had been googling, i meant i had thought that maybe another startup item was calling this thing up at startup since it was not in autoruns, etc. So I tried disabling different things, then restarting, then enabling that one and disabling another one. I had just overlooked that section that actually solved it and i did not run across the pchell site, guess my google search string did not pull it up. I did not realize that if its not in autoruns, ccleaner, or msconfig that it could still start up, so part of my time was reasearching how and why something like that could start up. I was just trying to learn! So yes TWO HOURS
__________________
Keep Calm and Chive On!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.