Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > General Computer Chit-Chat

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-15-2010, 02:48 PM
JW The Computer Guy JW The Computer Guy is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 395
JW The Computer Guy is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via MSN to JW The Computer Guy
Default Avira notifier

If any of you install Avira, have you ever had any calls about the notifier popping up? If so, what do you do about it? I currently install it on all the systems i work on, no calls about it yet for me though.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-15-2010, 02:53 PM
Xander's Avatar
Xander Xander is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Niagara region, Ontario
Posts: 6,861
Xander is just really niceXander is just really niceXander is just really niceXander is just really nice
Default

I don't usually install Avira, but on the systems where I have in the past, I've told them that a daily popup is a pretty good trade for a decent, free AV.
__________________
Xander St Catharines Computer Repairs

New here? Watch this and read this. Remember, it's not our problem, it's yours so ask your questions well.
e.g. Make/Model#, Win version/SP#, BSOD 0x#. Consider posting Event Viewer logs, Autoruns exports or something.
More info means better answers and less snark.

Don't be parasitic and only pose your own questions or come around once a year for help. Help others.
Never trust a "tech" with a hotmail address.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-15-2010, 02:55 PM
tom312 tom312 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
tom312 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

there are a lot of solutions to block the ads. When my coustomers ask me to block it i will do so. Just google for it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-15-2010, 03:11 PM
Xander's Avatar
Xander Xander is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Niagara region, Ontario
Posts: 6,861
Xander is just really niceXander is just really niceXander is just really niceXander is just really nice
Default

Not sure why you'd do that, Tom. It seems to me that if they want an ad-free version, they can pay for it.
If you like the product and, I assume, the company that makes it, why would you go an extra step to try to deprive them an income that might come from their free-to-consumers version?

Personally, I don't remove the WGA from a pirated version of Windows, and I wouldn't remove the ad from Avira.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-17-2010, 05:16 PM
TheBiff's Avatar
TheBiff TheBiff is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 130
TheBiff is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to TheBiff
Default

There is two ways to get around the ads. One is by turning off the service in Group Policy, Google to find out which one because I dont remember off the top of my head. 2nd way is to download NoNotifyAvira. Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-17-2010, 07:09 PM
vdub12's Avatar
vdub12 vdub12 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,508
vdub12 is on a distinguished road
Default

I would just use a different av program.
__________________
CyberCPU Computer Repair
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-17-2010, 07:48 PM
SThompson86's Avatar
SThompson86 SThompson86 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Pearl,Mississippi
Posts: 836
SThompson86 is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to SThompson86 Send a message via Yahoo to SThompson86
Default

My buddy uses Avira, and he uses some third party tool to block the popups.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.