Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Tech-to-Tech Computer Help

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-16-2007, 04:57 AM
ilplvm ilplvm is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1
ilplvm is an unknown quantity at this point
Angry Need Special Help.

I am a computer person.
But now my computer has a serious problem and I can do nothing on it.

I have a HP dv6113us laptop. It was just past the warrant.
The computer got some virus, So I decided to use system recovery
to set it back to the original.

I created recovery dsics and ran it on my pc.
After the recovery format the disc c: drive and started to recovery,
I received an error message.
"File minint\system32\ntoskrnl.exe could not be loaded. The error code is 4.
Press any key to exit."


I tested my hard drive. I got the 'Pass' result. It meant the hard drive is OK.

I tried many time. I cannot avoid this error message and I kept getting this
message and system kick me out. and reboot the computer.

Now I have no OS on my computer and I can't do recovery.
The computer is totally dead. I don't know want I can do!

Anyone can help me?
Thanks a lot.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-16-2007, 05:22 AM
jaross18 jaross18 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fargo, ND
Posts: 8
jaross18 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

What program did you use to test the HDD?

Have you tried to remove the HDD and run chkdsk on it in another computer?
__________________
======
jaross18

Computer Wrench
www.computerwrench.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-16-2007, 04:27 PM
gunslinger's Avatar
gunslinger gunslinger is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Cookeville, Tennessee
Posts: 3,163
gunslinger has a spectacular aura aboutgunslinger has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via Skype™ to gunslinger
Default

" I created recovery dsics and ran it on my pc.
After the recovery format the disc c: drive and started to recovery,
I received an error message.
"File minint\system32\ntoskrnl.exe could not be loaded. The error code is 4.
Press any key to exit."

Did you make the disks after you got the virus? If so files could have been corrupted.
You could always just do a clean install with an XP CD. Have you tried this? Just format the whole drive and start with a clean slate.

As a side note HP recovery partitions are notoriously unreliable.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-16-2007, 04:47 PM
greggh's Avatar
greggh greggh is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 582
greggh will become famous soon enough
Default

minint (which is in your error message) is Windows PE or BartPE. If the files for it are corrupted there isnt much youcan do. Error 4 from those usually menas corrupted files. Your best bet is to get another copy of the discs (non-recovery, actual install discs) for your system. Either directly from HP or from a site like restoredisks.com.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-16-2007, 05:39 PM
Holzster Holzster is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 201
Holzster is on a distinguished road
Default

You can try spinright www.grc.com that has saved me many times in the same situation. The scan might take many hours though.

Tracy
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-16-2007, 05:55 PM
gunslinger's Avatar
gunslinger gunslinger is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Cookeville, Tennessee
Posts: 3,163
gunslinger has a spectacular aura aboutgunslinger has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via Skype™ to gunslinger
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greggh View Post
minint (which is in your error message) is Windows PE or BartPE. If the files for it are corrupted there isnt much youcan do. Error 4 from those usually menas corrupted files. Your best bet is to get another copy of the discs (non-recovery, actual install discs) for your system. Either directly from HP or from a site like restoredisks.com.

Exactly greggh.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-16-2007, 11:03 PM
tkrabec's Avatar
tkrabec tkrabec is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Indiantown
Posts: 307
tkrabec is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to tkrabec Send a message via AIM to tkrabec Send a message via MSN to tkrabec Send a message via Yahoo to tkrabec Send a message via Skype™ to tkrabec
Default

exactly the same post as
http://www.thecomputerforums.co.uk/f...al-help-11455/

Aside from that nothing shows up on google. I'd say run a check disk
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-10-2008, 03:38 AM
BeyondReality BeyondReality is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 33
BeyondReality is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

run memtest check the memory. if the memory is bad when loading the files it could corrupt them. If it passes than stop tryin to use stupid recovery disks. They all suck because there loaded with crap from the manufacturer. Just get a regular stock OS disk. Boot off of the disk, whipe the hard drive including every partition and get a fresh install of the OS on the drive. If it still doesnt work which i can almost guarantee it will than either the HD test was wrong and the drive is bad or the HD controller on the board could be on the way out...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-25-2008, 09:02 PM
ftbendpc's Avatar
ftbendpc ftbendpc is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 24
ftbendpc is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

when i worked for the compusa tech department we would get this error often on hp desktops when restoring from recovery disks. I would install using a different memory stick and it would work fine.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.