Go Back   Technibble Forums > General Computers > Tech-to-Tech Computer Help

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-06-2007, 12:34 AM
Brandon Brandon is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 71
Brandon is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Partition Help

I have a computer with a 4GB hard drive on it. C: (System) has 2GB and another 2GB is unallocated space. How do I combine the 2GB of unallocated space to the C: (System) partition to make a total of 4GB C: (System)

Can this be done with just the Disk Management in Windows XP? Are there any free programs that are worth using? Can I even do this without reformatting?

Thanks in advance...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-06-2007, 01:37 AM
greggh's Avatar
greggh greggh is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 582
greggh will become famous soon enough
Default

Use GParted LiveCD: http://gparted-livecd.tuxfamily.org/
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-06-2007, 02:24 PM
DarkEdge's Avatar
DarkEdge DarkEdge is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7
DarkEdge is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Removed ....

Last edited by DarkEdge; 12-06-2007 at 03:22 PM. Reason: Did not know that it was illegal
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-06-2007, 03:09 PM
greggh's Avatar
greggh greggh is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 582
greggh will become famous soon enough
Default

DarkEdge, while most of us know all about Hiren's disc. We try not to promote piracy here. For me its not out of any moral righteousness, its just because we don't need to draw the wrong type of attention to this board or its members.

Edit:
Thanks for the quick takedown. Yeah it really sucks that the disc is illegal. It is a great disc. But its 90% pirated.

Last edited by greggh; 12-06-2007 at 06:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-06-2007, 05:43 PM
Brandon Brandon is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 71
Brandon is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greggh View Post
Ok I downloaded this program and tried using it but I think I screwed it up. What I have now is 3.99GB of Fat32 and 31.38MB of Unallocated space. I thought I was good until I restarted the system back up and it doesn't load Windows. Goes to a black screen with a cursor flashing and sets there.

Anyone, know what I might have done wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-06-2007, 06:31 PM
greggh's Avatar
greggh greggh is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 582
greggh will become famous soon enough
Default

Make sure to set the partition active. You might also want to go into the windows recovery console on the windows install disc and run: fixmbr, then fixboot. That should solve it.

Last edited by greggh; 12-06-2007 at 06:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-06-2007, 08:02 PM
Brandon Brandon is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 71
Brandon is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greggh View Post
Make sure to set the partition active. You might also want to go into the windows recovery console on the windows install disc and run: fixmbr, then fixboot. That should solve it.
Thanks a lot. The fixmbr and fixboot commands worked. This board is great! I have learned a great deal on this one!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-06-2007, 08:12 PM
Brandon Brandon is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 71
Brandon is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

One other thing I notice when I turn this computer on is I have 3 OS options to boot.

Windows XP
Windows XP
Windows

I always select the first one which loads windows. How do I get rid of the other 2 so that does not come up?

Think I found the solution. Going to try this.
http://forums.majorgeeks.com/showthread.php?t=142511

Last edited by Brandon; 12-06-2007 at 08:21 PM. Reason: Found solution
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-06-2007, 08:42 PM
greggh's Avatar
greggh greggh is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 582
greggh will become famous soon enough
Default

Yep, that is the solution. Just edit the boot.ini. If you want a tool by microsoft built for editing it they made bootcfg, its in the recovery console as well.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-07-2007, 04:06 AM
gunslinger's Avatar
gunslinger gunslinger is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Cookeville, Tennessee
Posts: 3,163
gunslinger has a spectacular aura aboutgunslinger has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via Skype™ to gunslinger
Default

Its a real shame that one of the best tools out there is illegal.

I agree greggh, I would not want this site to get shut down like some of my other fav. sites have recently. I'm losing them all one by one.

Last edited by gunslinger; 12-07-2007 at 12:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.