Go Back   Technibble Forums > The Computer Repair Business > Business and Legal Issues

  Technibble Sponsor

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-23-2010, 12:31 AM
lassenpc's Avatar
lassenpc lassenpc is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Susanville CA USA
Posts: 221
lassenpc is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Do I need an electrical contractor for this?

Hi all,

I'm here in California, trying to figure out for a current business client that is moving into a new building if it is a legal requirement to have a licensed electrical contractor for this work, or if it is something I can do I my own (done it before, just not to this scale).

They need 30 Ethernet lines from patch panel throughout the building, which will require some drilling, running the lines (under floor, in ceiling, down walls), installing the wall boxes, plates / jacks and of course punching everything in.

In the past I've just stepped in once someone (usually an electrician) has everything run, and I just punch it in.

So, what's the 'line' (no pun intended) on what we can run... and when we need to get a contractor?
__________________
Aaron Barnes, Owner
www.lassenpc.com
help@lassenpc.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-23-2010, 06:12 AM
TouchToneTommy TouchToneTommy is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 50
TouchToneTommy is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

You don't need an electrician, you need a low-voltage contractor. In California, that's a C-7 license. Although sparky is covered with his C-10 license, they rarely know the ins and outs of low voltage. And finally, anything over $500 in CA requires a license.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-23-2010, 06:22 PM
usacvlr's Avatar
usacvlr usacvlr is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,162
usacvlr is on the way
Default

There's also requirements like using plenum cable in the ceilings.
__________________

You Break It. We Fix It!
http://www.usalaptoprepair.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-24-2010, 03:21 AM
TouchToneTommy TouchToneTommy is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 50
TouchToneTommy is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Plenum is required if the space above the t-bar is used for air handling - instead of return ducting. If that space is not an air return, CMX is fine. (and 1/2 the cost)

In all cases, check with the "Authority Having Jurisdiction", who has the last say - there may be overriding local codes.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-25-2010, 01:48 AM
lassenpc's Avatar
lassenpc lassenpc is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Susanville CA USA
Posts: 221
lassenpc is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Thanks guys; I didn't think to check with the local authority (here, County Buildings Inspector); will do. Thanks again.
__________________
Aaron Barnes, Owner
www.lassenpc.com
help@lassenpc.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
license, requirement, state, wiring

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Technibble.com is based out of MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA.